Gaya Melon

It’s been a great week for trying new types of produce.  Earlier this week I tried a cherimoya for the very first time, and now I have another new fruit to share.  Does anyone know what it is?

It’s a Gaya MelonDuh.  That’s also the title of this post.

If you want to get really technical, it’s an Ivory Gaya Melon.  There’s another type of Gaya Melon that has a dark green exterior, and it’s called a Chameleon Gaya Melon.  I just learned that from the interwebs – but at the store, this guy was labeled as a Gaya Melon, and since I had never heard of it before, I bought one.

I love that it’s about the same size as a large grapefruit or pummelo – the perfect size for a household of one.

I treated it like I do cantaloupes or honeydews – and let it sit on the counter while it ripened.  When it seemed ready to go (you can tell because the stem end of the melon gets soft and gives a little bit when you press it with your thumb), I cut off the top and bottom.  That’s when I noticed that the melon had a very thin skin.  Usually I would cut down the sides of the melon with my knife, removing the rind, but since this one was so thin, I used my wonderful peeler instead.  Here it is half done:

After I finished that, I cut it in half.  Here’s what the insides look like:

Yep.  Looks like a melon.

I scooped out the seeds and cut off a piece to try it.  And that’s when I learned, the hard way, that…

…the skin wasn’t so thin after all.  Under the skin, there’s a full-on rind, but it’s exactly the same color as the edible flesh.  How annoying is that?  So I went back with my knife and cut down the sides, trying to differentiate between flesh and rind (while the color the same, the texture is slightly different).

What a pain in the ass.  That’s strike one, gaya melon.

And now did it taste?  Not very good.  Not much flavor.  Not very sweet.  Kinda like a really boring, bad honeydew.  Nothing special.  Nothing that made me want to jump for joy or rush to write this post.  It’s complete mediocrity was especially annoying given the fact that I already been tricked by the melon into thinking the rind was edible.  Such trickery would be acceptable if the end result was delectable.  My gaya melon was not delectable.  That’s strike two.

After chopping it up into pieces, I ate about half the melon, and saved the other half for work the next day:

In this game of baseball, two strikes is enough.  The gaya melon is out.  I’m not gonna be buying another one.

Wanna see what other new fruits and veggies I’ve tried for the first time?  They’re all archived in My Favorite Posts at the top of the page!

Keep it up, David!

 

12 Responses to Gaya Melon

  1. Lesley James says:

    I bought a Gaya melon at an Asian store. It was similar in size to the variety you bought but the coloring a bit different and with green flesh, the color and flavor of a honeydew – but sweeter! I learned online that there are quite a few varieties of Gaya melons with enough differences between them you wonder why they all have the same name. I saved the seeds from mine and will attempt to grow some; it was that good.

  2. I wasn’t sure if you did awards. I wanted to pass this award to you and let you know that I really enjoy reading your blog.

    The Adorable Blog Award

  3. Jennifer says:

    I appreciate these posts of new fruits and vegetables you’ve tried. I’m working on increasing my variety of produce, too.

  4. Janet says:

    I always like to read your posts on produce, really inspires me. Thanks for goving me new healthy choices to choose from David. 😉

  5. Casandra says:

    We just tried one with the same sticker on it and was super sweet, maybe you got one that wasn’t ready when they cut or something? I read if you stop watering close to harvest they turn out much sweeter, so maybe it got too much water late in game.

  6. Karen says:

    I bought 2 Gaya melons from H-Mart a few weeks ago. They were super sweet! I saved the seeds and grew them in a pot and the seeds have sprouted and growing really well! I am keeping my fingers crossed that they will continue to grow so that I can enjoy harvesting the fruits when they are ready. I have too many seedlings now and need to give many of them away to my neighbors and friends to thin them out. I live in North Texas.

    • David says:

      That’s awesome! I can’t imagine how much fruit I’ve thrown away because of all the seeds I toss. But then again, I don’t really have a green thumb. Let me know if you get any melons! Keep it up!

  7. fruit says:

    Excellent way of describing, and pleasant
    piece of writing to obtain information regarding my presentation subject, which i am
    going to deliver in university.

  8. Esther Garrett says:

    I had bought a Gaya melon from Mexico at the international market in Atlanta GA. The Mexican guy told me to let it completely ripe about 3-4 days, OMG this was the sweetest and juiciest melon I ate in a very long time.

  9. DivineLight says:

    You made a mistake with giving up after one. Never do that with fruits. These gaya melons are absolutely the most delicious melons on this whole earth, they are so sweet, so divine, so perfect. The best thing I have ever tasted. You had a bad one. Always try fruit many times because they vary so much depending the season, grower, ripeness, so many things. Some can be so bad but then theres some that are so incredible they blow your mind with how food they taste. Never judge if you had just one, or even many 🌸

Leave a comment