And How Was Your Weekend?

Good evening, everyone!

It’s 10:15pm on Sunday night as I write this.  It’s been a few days since I last posted, and I wish I could say I had some sort of fantastic adventures since then, like a trip to a theme park or a visit to a new restaurant, but nope!  My weekend was very low-key.

Friday night ended up being a late night at the office.  I think I got in my car at 9:30 or so, and headed straight to downtown Burbank to hit the gym.  I always love Friday nights at the gym – it’s always empty!  The gym that I go to has two locations, and the downtown Burbank branch has arc trainers, which are my favorite cardio machines, and the other location does not.  I wanted to use an arc trainer.  Parking at the downtown location is hardly ever a problem… but on weekend nights it can be a bitch, and on Friday, it was a bitch.  The free public garage across the street from the gym was full, because it’s also a great spot to park for about 10 restaurants and a 16-screen movie theater.  After circling the different levels for a few minutes, I gave up, and headed home.  No gym for me.

Normally, skipping a workout isn’t the worst thing in the world, but I had also skipped my workouts on Wednesday and Thursday nights, too.  Wednesday was a planned rest day (my first after 6 great workout days in a row), but Thursday…  well, I don’t know what happened Thursday.  I can’t remember the last time I went three days in a row without working out, but I have a hunch it was last fall, when my work got to be very time-consuming and exhausting (read about it here and here).

My work is picking up again.  The next two weeks may prove to be quite busy, with long hours.  So I should get to bed at a reasonable time.

Before I do, however, I wanna watch Food Network Star.  It’s the first time I get to try out the new game created by me and some friends, where every time the phrase “culinary point of view” is said, we have to do 5 push-ups or 10 crunches!  Read all about how to play here.

Uh-oh – I think I’ll have a lot of push-ups and/or crunches to do…  the key phrase is even used in the episode description on my TiVo!

Oh, and I did work out on both Saturday and Sunday.  I wasn’t feeling well on Saturday morning (I felt queasy, and didn’t want to risk barfing in public at Slimmons), so I went down to the gym in my building and rode the recumbent bike for 62 minutes.   Then, on Sunday, because I had some magazines I wanted to catch up on, I jumped on the very same bike and rode for 52 minutes.

Keep it up, David!

2 Responses to And How Was Your Weekend?

  1. pagiola says:

    Hi David, I wish I could say I had some sort of fantastic adventures…. wait I think I have, I comment before that you were an inspiration and I just sing up to a gym, well long story short, last week was my first and I HAVE 5 WORKOUTS!! of course am going slowly and only do between 20 or 30 min on the treadmill

    Am very enthusiastic an am determined to change my habits to change my life.

    best regards
    paola

    • David says:

      Woo-hoo Paola! That’s fantastic that you’re heading to the gym now, and congrats on the 5 workouts. It sounds like your first week was really productive. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

