What’s in the RediSetGo? Part Four

Are you buckled in?  Hair tied back, and all loose articles out of your pockets?  Because it’s time for the game that has everyone talking, What’s in the RediSetGo?

If you haven’t played before, you have been missing out on hours of priceless entertainment.  You can catch up on the installments that you missed right here:

The game couldn’t be simpler.  There’s something in my RediSetGo.  But what?  That’s how you play.  So… are your thinking caps on?  Because here we go!

What’s in the RediSetGo?

A PUPUSA is in the RediSetGo!

That’s right – What’s in the RediSetGo went international!  A pupusa is a very popular street food in El Salvador.  It’s about the size and thickness of a pancake, but made from a corn-based dough (similar in texture to the corn dough used in tamales), and filled with either cheese, pork, beans, or a combo of all three.  This one was cheese and beans.

I had never even heard of pupusas before coming to Los Angeles.  Actually, I didn’t know about them until about a year ago when I started noticing pupuserias in my new neighborhood – you know, scattered among the strip clubs.   I had to look up what they were, and then, some time ago, I got around to trying one from a taco truck parked down the street.   Mmm – tasty!  And served with curtido, which Wikipedia defines as “lightly fermented cabbage slaw with red chilies and vinegar” – which was good, but not something I would need to eat that often.

Months passed after I tried that pupusa, until last night, when I was shopping at Superior Grocers, and I noticed pupusas in the freezer section.  I bought a box (for $5.89):

I’m certain these pupusas won’t be as good as taco truck pupusas, but one benefit of these is that I can read the nutrition label.  And because 1 pupusa is 200 calories and 8 grams of fat, I’ve decided they’re fine as an occasional element of my diet.   And they’re easy – about 5 minutes in the RediSetGo, and voila!  A pupusa!  I actually cooked this one last night and took it to work today, along with a banana, 6 oz of nonfat yogurt, 4 fresh figs, and a giant Tupperware of raw veggies (cauliflower, cherry tomatoes, carrots, bell pepper).  I intended on eating half of the spread for lunch, and the other half for dinner, but today I kinda grazed every couple hours all day long on something or other.

I also intended on hitting the gym after work, but I ended up staying at the office until nearly 9pm, and I decided to just go home instead.  My 7-8 minute commute home turned into a 35-minute ordeal because I ended up about 1/4 mile behind what turned out to be a 4 or 5 car pile-up on the freeway.  It shut down 4 of the freeway’s 5 lanes, and there were no exits between me and the accident.  Good times.

This is going to be a particularly crazy week at work, and I suspect there might be a couple other late nights which will deter me from working out.  So I’m gonna have to make sure to stay on track, diet-wise.  I’m only 9 pounds away from my next goal!   And I’ll be weighing myself tomorrow – looking forward to what the scale says!

Keep it up, David!

One Response to What’s in the RediSetGo? Part Four

  1. Karen says:

    Oooh… international flair 🙂

Leave a comment