What’s in the RediSetGo? Part Three

Two food-based posts in a row?  Yep!  You’re either super excited, or already thinking it’s time to check out other things on the interweb, like a super-creepy Australian obesity PSA or maybe checking out my buddy Del’s cool new website, YouTube Time Machine.  I hope you stick around (even though YouTube Time Machine is pretty sweet, but you can go there when you’re done here).

Anyway – it’s only a matter of days, I’m sure, before “What’s in the RediSetGo?” is in development at the Game Show Network.   It’s all everyone is talking about, even though by ‘everyone’, I really mean ‘just me.’  We’re playing two days in a row because when I got home from my Latin Jam class tonight, (read more about it, and watch a video, here) I felt inspired to cook.   So I made my lunch and dinner for tomorrow.  More on all that later, though, because, for right now… Are you ready to play?

What’s in the RediSetGo?

BRUSSEL SPROUTS are in the RediSetGo!

Before Latin Jam class, I swung by Trader Joe’s, as I had just read on Lynn Chen’s blog post for today that she bought Brussel Sprouts on the stalk at her local Trader Joe’s.   She also posted this cool photo of a very good-looking fellow holding a stalk:

Source

Now, I don’t know which Trader Joe’s Lynn was shopping at (although I’m pretty sure she’s LA-based), but it wasn’t the Toluca Lake Trader Joe’s, because I went there, and guess how many brussel sprout stalks they had?  None.  Zip.  Zero.  An employee told me they might not get any in until next July.  What a bummer.  I have never seen a brussel sprout stalk in person before, and didn’t even know what a stalk looked like until about a year ago.  I had never even thought about how brussel sprouts grow until Paula Deen held up a stalk on the Food Network, and I was transfixed.  I can’t remember what she made with the sprouts, but my guess is that it involved 2 sticks of butter, rendered bacon fat, bacon, fat, and at the end, was covered in cheese AND gravy.

So I left Trader Joe’s with brussel sprouts anyway, because I was craving them and I can’t remember the last time I bought them fresh and not frozen, but they were in a bag.  BORING!

The RediSetGo process was simple.  Spray a little Pam, cut about a dozen brussel sprouts in half, and let them sear and roast, cut side down.  Simple and delicious.

Meanwhile, I was working in another dish, a make-it-up-as-I-go-along version of fried rice – minus the frying.  First, I cooked some brown rice.  Then, in a skillet, I sauteed the last of my 99 Cent Store mini bell peppers, and some mushrooms.  I scooted the veggies to one side of the skillet, and poured 2 egg whites into the other side, and scrambled them.  I tossed in about 2/3 cup of the rice, mixed it all up with a little sauce (2 tablespoons of the same Satay Peanut Sauce I talked about yesterday), and after taking it off the heat, threw in some chopped raw cucumber.

I’m kinda excited for my lunch and dinner tomorrow – I don’t know what I’m gonna eat when!  Here’s the entire spread for both meals:

The fried rice is bottom right.  The brussel sprouts are top center – I added to the container some raw tomato slices and about 1/2 cup of garbanzo beans.  One tupperware of grapes and a banana, for some fruit at each meal, and I packed it all up in my lunch bag:

Food prepared for tomorrow?  Check!

Blog written about that food?  Check!

That leaves one final thing on my to-do list for the evening:  Watch 30 Rock.  Then off to bed – it’s already past midnight!

Keep it up, David!

4 Responses to What’s in the RediSetGo? Part Three

  1. actorsdiet says:

    ha! my husband was surprised to see himself on your blog – we got the stalk at the one in Hollywood on Vine. it was really cheap too, i wanna say $3?!?

    • David says:

      Thanks for the add’l info! As for your hubby… if you got any other pics of him holding vegetables, I’d be more than happy to put them on the blog, too… I got no complaints so far! Ha!

  2. Amy says:

    I just started following your blog and I love it. I saw you at the concert and you look so much healthier, it will be exciting to see the transformation.

Leave a Reply

