What’s in the RediSetGo?

I love my Xpress RediSetGo cooker.  I saw the informercial a bunch of times over the course of about 6 months, and when my birthday rolled around last March, I set an email out to my family saying, ‘Hey, if anyone is looking to get me a present, I want a RediSetGo!’  No one responded, so, naturally, I thought they all got in cahoots (started cahooting?) and ordered me one.  When I talked to renowned architect Laura Garcia (aka my sister) shortly thereafter, I learned no one took me seriously.  Hmph.  Until a RediSetGo showed up at my door!  Laura came through!

The RediSetGo is a countertop cooking device that can bake, grill, sear, and roast in a matter of minutes!  I’ll leave the particulars to the actual infomercial.  Hope you like Cathy Mitchell!

The timer crapped out on my RediSetGo after about a month, but I don’t care.  I still use it a couple times a weeks on average.  Burgers are a snap in it, and I love roasting butternut squash and sweet potatoes in it.  It’s not a huge machine, but that’s fine, because I live alone and most of the time I’m only cooking for one anyway.

Today, I busted out the RediSetGo for breakfast.  What’s in the RediSetGo?

An EGG SCRAMBLE is in the RediSetGo!

It’s not necessarily a feast for the yes, but it was tasty:  2 egg whites, a shallot, 1/2 green pepper, some herbs, and about a tablespoon of lite cream cheese.

The unphotographed part of my breakfast (let’s call it brunch, because I ate it at 11:30am) included a Honeycrisp apple (Thanks for the suggestion, Heather!) and about a cup of blueberries.  Oh, and I juiced 1 orange.

Today is Day 2 of a weekend all about the arts.  Last night I attended the first concert of the Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra‘s new season, and went with a really dear friend from high school, Emily, who was in town this weekend, and whom I hadn’t seen in about 4 years  (I’m also an occasional blogger for LACO – you can read my post about last night’s concert here).  Today I’m seeing two different plays in two different counties.  First up is the matinee performance of “In the Next Room” by Sarah Ruhl at South Coast Repertory in Costa Mesa (in Orange County), and tonight I’m seeing one of my favorite plays, “The Glass Menagerie,” at Mark Taper Forum in downtown Los Angeles (oddly enough, in Los Angeles County).

Because I won’t be home from about 12:30pm – 11pm, I’ll need to eat out today.  And I’m planning on eating fast food…  Subway!  It’s cheap (to balance out the money going into my gas tank) and quick and healthy, and I haven’t had it in about a month or so.   I have some celery sticks I’ll grab to munch on in the car, too.

Keep it up, David!

Leave a Reply

