My Old Roommate is BAAAAAACK!

I’ll start with a few quickie updates:

1) Guest Post. I wrote a guest post for my friend Kenlie at All The Weigh that she published today. Click here to see the post, which is my recipe for healthy crab and shrimp cakes. Then, stay and poke around Kenlie’s site – she’s a great writer and has lost a ton of weight, and I have a hunch you might find her inspiring.

2) Burpees. Last week, I committed myself to completing Your Inner Skinny’s No Excuses 30-Day Burpee Challenge. I started with 15 burpees the first day, and will add 1 additional burpee each day for a month. Burpees are terrible. They’re a hellish combination of push-ups and vertical jumps, and I hate them, which is why I’m doing the challenge – to push myself at something I normally wouldn’t do. Tuesday marks Day 9 of the Challenge – I’m almost one-third of the way done! – and later today I’ll be doing 23 burpees. That means I’ve already completed 8 days of burpees, which add up to a total of 148 burpees! Here’s what really freaks me out: by the time this challenge is all over, I’ll have completed an astounding 930 burpees. HOLY SHIT! (Pardon my french.)

OKAY – with the updates out of the way, let’s move on… I’m back on a brussel sprouts kick. It had been a long time since I had eaten brussel sprouts, but when I made the dijon brussel sprouts not too long ago, I remembered how much I love them. So, some sauteed brussel sprouts (with a balsamic dressing glaze) will be part of my lunch today, and I also have a new roommate.

I had a roommate around this time last fall – it was a delightful brussel sprouts stalk. It was the first time I’d ever seen a brussel sprouts stalk in person, and I fell in love instantly at the store, and brought one home to live with me. The stalk proved to be a valuable addition to my household (it sorted coupons and helped with the laundry), even though the living arrangement didn’t last long, as the brussel sprouts ultimately ended up in my stomach.

A few days ago, I saw brussel sprout stalks at the store, and fell in love all over again. Time to bring another one home! Look, my new roommate:

I don’t know why I think these are one of the coolest things in the world, but I do!

Turns out this brussel sprout stalk couldn’t be more different than its predecessor. Whereas my first brussel sprout stalk roommate was helpful and considerate, this one is a big pain in the ass. It borrows my shoes without asking…

…is always pestering me to go swimming….

…and beats me at Scrabble every single time!

My patience is already wearing thin for this brussel sprout stalk. Methinks it might meet its destiny (in my digestive tract) sooner rather than later!

Before I go, I just wanna give a heads up: Tomorrow, I’m going to weigh myself for the first time in three weeks. I moved my scale from the bathroom floor to the top shelf of my closet after my last weigh-in, as I was beginning to obsess over numbers, but now I’m really antsy to see what how I’ve been doing. At the last weigh-in, I was still up 1 pound from my all-time low, and during these three weeks, I’ve been eating well and exercising, so I’m hoping that pound will be gone, and possibly another pound on top of it. I’ll share the news in my next post.

Keep it up, David!

12 Responses to My Old Roommate is BAAAAAACK!

  1. love those!!! you are totally right…they are so cool!

  2. Brussel Sprouts are gross… Burpees are awesome! You’re all backwards!

  3. Pat says:

    Didn’t your mom ever teach you not to play w/ your food.

  4. nichelle says:

    This is hilarious!
    Your dijon Brussels recipe inspired me to give brussels another chance. Last night I roasted them with carrots, red onion and a little olive oil, garlic salt and pepper. Delish!!! I had no idea how much protein they have. Awesome! Keep it up, David!

  5. kate says:

    Brussel sprooouuuuut!!!! arrrrr….yuk

  6. Maren says:

    I’d love for you to do a whole post on different meals and dishes with brussel sprouts, that would be so awesome! Pretty pleaaaaaase!

  7. I love sprouts and i now know what a Burpee is! can’t say i’m in a rush to join in! good luck with WI tomorrow

  8. Pat says:

    Wait. Do I Eagle Eye a hidden name in your Crossword Puzzle? Shout Out!!!

  9. Kelly B says:

    Your dijon brussel sprouts inspired me to buy some fresh brussel sprouts at Trader Joe’s this weekend! I’m going to make your recipe for dinner tomorrow! I’ll let you know how they turn out. (I love brussel sprouts, but I’ve never had fresh ones.)

  10. Katie J says:

    I have never seen one so glad you shared. I like brussel sprouts but oy the gas it gives me… Yikes!

Leave a comment