Multiple Chart Updates!

Yesterday was Tuesday, my weigh-in day.  My weight loss chart needs updating.  But there’s a couple other charts that need updating, too… so I’m going to go on a mad chart-updating spree!  Wanna come along?  Oh, and there’s a fun new weight loss tip at the end of this post.  Don’t miss it!

Chart #1 – Weight Loss Chart.  Last week I gained a pound (which I did not like), and vowed to buckle down in regards to portion control and planning.  How’d I do?  Eh, not great.  Not horribly, either.  This came as no big shock:

I stayed the same.  That’s 169 pounds lost.  I’m fine with it, but I’m making a change that I hope will be helpful this upcoming week.  Normally, I do one weigh-in a week, but I’ll step on the scale once or twice during the course of the week just to see how I’m doing.  Since I got back from my trip three weeks ago, I’ve been stepping on the scale all the time.  Every day.  Multiple times a day, on occasion.  That needs to stop.  I need to focus on my eating, my exercise, and my attitude, not the number.  So I found a new home for my scale, in the top corner of my closet, and it will stay there until next Tuesday:

Probably should have done that a long time ago.

Chart #2 – Running Chart.  If you saw my Monday post, then you already know that, over the weekend, I finally conquered my long-standing goal to run past all the strip clubs in my neighborhood without stopping.  In all the excitement, I forgot to update my running chart!  It’s this chart’s first update since June.  I’ve gone on runs since June, but have failed to collect, for any of them, the information that I need to update the chart.  Not this time!  Time to add my goal-busting run!

  • 9/21/10: Distance: 3.1 miles.  Time: 41 minutes.  MPH: 4.53
  • 9/27/10: Distance: 3.3 miles.  Time: 45 minutes.  MPH: 4.4
  • 10/5/10: Distance: 3.2 miles.  Time: 40 minutes.  MPH: 4.8
  • 11/1/10: Distance: 3.1 miles.  Time: 36 minutes.  MPH: 5.16
  • 11/6/10: Distance: 5.1 miles. Time: 60 minutes.  MPH: 5.1
  • 11/14/10: Distance: 3.9 miles. Time: 45 minutes.  MPH: 5.2
  • 11/28/10: Distance: 4.2 miles. Time: 46 minutes.  MPH: 5.47
  • 1/4/11: Distance: 3.0 miles. Time: 34 minutes.  MPH: 5.3
  • 1/24/11: Distance: 4.4 miles.  Time: 45 minutes.  MPH: 5.86
  • 2/1/11: Distance: 1.9 miles.  Time: 20 minutes.  MPH: 5.7
  • 2/9/11: Distance: 3.5 miles.  Time: 38 minutes.  MPH: 5.52
  • 2/16/11: Distance: 2.9 miles.  Time: 33 minutes.  MPH: 5.28
  • 2/27/11: Distance: 5 miles.  Time: 60 minutes.  MPH: 5.0
  • 3/3/11: Distance: 5.4 miles.  Time: 57 minutes.  MPH: 5.68
  • 3/10/11: Distance: 3.0 miles.  Time: 34 minutes.  MPH: 5.29
  • 4/10/11:  Distance: 4.5 miles.  Time: 47 minutes.  MPH: 5.74
  • 5/22/11: Distance: 3.5 miles.  Time: 40 minutes.  MPH: 5.25
  • 6/5/11:  Distance: 5.4 miles.  Time: 58 minutes.  MPH: 5.58
  • 6/20/11:  Distance: 3.9 miles.  Time: 42 minutes.  MPH: 5.57
  • 10/1/11: Distance: 6.4 miles. Time: 66 minutes. MPH: 5.82 (Strip Club Run)

That’s two personal bests for me:  I’ve never run longer or farther before in my life, and I was also within 4/100ths of it tying my fastest pace ever!

Chart #3 – Skyscraper Chart.  I’m not a fan of the StairMaster, so I have a way to rally myself when I use it:  I find a skyscraper, somewhere on the planet, that’s equivalent to the number of stories I climb during my workout.  So far I have 15 skyscrapers in my collection, spread between 5 different states and 8 different countries.

It’s been a month since I’ve added a skyscraper to the chart, so on Sunday, I hit the StairMaster at the gym, and now I can add skyscraper #16 to the chart.  I went for 15 minutes on the StairMaster, starting at level 6 and working up to level 12 (and burning 275 calories in the process).  I climbed 80 floors! 

Instead of adding an 80-story building to my collection, I’m going to add a 73-story building that I’ve been meaning to add: The US Bank Tower, just down the freeway from me in downtown Los Angeles:

I see the US Bank Tower all the time.  It’s the tallest building in Los Angeles, the tallest building west of the Mississippi River, and the tallest building in the world with a helipad on its roof.  It was one of the buildings that inspired a workout goal last year, but I’ve never gotten around to officially adding it to the chart.  Until today.

  • Aon Center, Chicago, IL (83 floors, climbed 8/5/11)
  • CITIC Plaza, Guangzhou, China (80 floors, climbed 12/1/10)
  • JPMorgan Chase Tower, Houston, TX (75 floors, climbed 3/9/11)
  • Renaissance Center, Detroit, MI (73 floors, climbed 6/19/11)
  • US Bank Tower, Los Angeles, CA (73 floors, climbed 10/2/11)
  • The Sail @ Marina Bay, Singapore (70 floors, cilmbed 11/9/10)
  • Yokohama Landmark Tower, Yokohama, Japan (70 floors, climbed 4/11/11)
  • 900 North Michigan, Chicago, IL (66 floors, climbed 4/1/11)
  • Vista Tower, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia (62 floors, climbed 7/2/11)
  • Commerzbank Tower, Frankfurt, Germany (56 floors, climbed 8/19/11)
  • 1000 de la Gauchetiere, Montreal, Canada (51 floors, climbed 11/3/10)
  • Hotel Arts, Barcelona, Spain (44 floors, climbed 8/12/11)
  • 1999 Broadway, Denver, CO (43 floors, climbed 8/29/11.)
  • Ernst & Young Bldg, Los Angeles, CA (41 floors, climbed 10/3/10)
  • City Place I, Hartford, CT (38 floors, climbed 5/11/11)
  • Ocean Towers, South Padre Island, TX (31 floors, climbed 1/20/11)

There.  Three different charts, all updated!  All that’s left is my…

Weight Loss Tip of the Day!  Yesterday, I helped my friend Tavi unpack, move, and set up a new couch he bought for his patio.  It was delivered in 4 giant boxes and had, between the frames, cushions, pillows, and clamps, close to 40 parts.  After it was all set up, I learned a very important tip:

If you want to look skinny, buy ENORMOUS pieces of furniture.  I look downright petite on this couch!

Keep it up, David!

3 Responses to Multiple Chart Updates!

  1. Ang says:

    okay..seriously that last picture, that couch is huge!!

  2. johnnyd says:

    sexy backyard, sexy man!!

Leave a Reply

