A Two-Week Hiatus From the Scale

It’s been 2 weeks since I last weighed myself.  For most of those two weeks, I was in Michigan, and I’m convinced the scale at my parents’ place is broken – when I was there at Christmas, I weighed myself 3 times in succession, and got 3 different numbers that varied by over 20 pounds!  I could have weighed myself at the gym, like I did when I reached my most recent weight loss goal, but that takes planning – I only weigh myself first thing in the morning, before drinking or eating anything, and on this most recent trip, I never got my act together to get to the gym without consuming anything, plus bringing food and water with me, so I could get something in my system before beginning my workout…  It’s a hassle.  It’s just easier to wake up, walk to the bathroom, get on the scale, and move on with my day, which is what I did this morning.

The scale displayed the same number it displayed two weeks ago: 243 pounds.  And, truthfully, I’m pretty happy about this.  It’s tough to me to stay on program when I’m traveling.  I worked hard to keep up the exercise, and ended up hitting the gym 9 out of the 11 days I was there.  And my eating was pretty good most days.  On the day before my grandmother’s funeral, I pretty much ate whatever I wanted, and as much of it as I wanted, and it was a lot.  Reminiscent of the way I used to eat.  But the very next day I got back on track.  And then, on my last night in Michigan, I had a midnight snack (something I very rarely do anymore) of an entire bag of microwave popcorn.  It wasn’t “light” or “reduced fat” – it was a regular bag, and I don’t know the calories or fat count because the box had already been thrown out, and I had found the lone singular pouch in a drawer in my parents’ kitchen.  It was very buttery (and delicious) and the first time I’ve had popcorn in a looong time, since my microwave can’t properly make a bag – it prefers to pop 1/3 of the kernels and then scorch them.

Anyhoo, time to update the chart:

That’s a long horizontal line, but better horizontal than heading upwards!  I should also point out that the vertical dashed line on the left marks the beginning of 2011, and the vertical dashed line on the right marks the 1-year anniversary of starting this diet.  I also started my 6th sheet of graph paper – my chart keeps growing and growing and growing!  Here’s the 6th sheet:

In order to fit the 6th sheet on my closet wall, I had to shift the other five pages over, so now my chart begins above the upper shelf.  Here’s the entire thing:

What you don’t see in the picture is that the wall ends just a few inches beyond the 6th sheet – so I don’t know what I’m going to do when it becomes time to add the 7th sheet!

Moving on…

Because of the very wintery weather in Michigan, I haven’t been running in a few weeks.  Well, that’s not entirely true.  Twice, in Michigan, I warmed up at the gym by jogging a mile around an indoor jogging track.  It was 16 laps around a track that’s basically a hallway that circles some racquetball courts, and after 16 laps, I was so bored that I moved on to other equipment.  My last real outdoor jog was on January 4th, almost three weeks ago… until a few hours ago, when I hit the sidewalks of my neighborhood.  Because it had been so long since I had gone running, I didn’t have expectations for duration or distance, I just started running.  And it felt great!  I could tell I was moving along at a good clip, and I picked some streets I’ve never been down before, and, before I knew it, I had gone 45 minutes without stopping.  When I got home, I plugged my route into Google Maps:

I went 4.4 miles!  I’m still a little ways off from reaching my running goal (which you can read about here), but I’m very happy with today’s workout.  Time to add it to my chart:

  • 9/21/10: Distance: 3.1 miles.  Time: 41 minutes.  MPH: 4.53
  • 9/27/10: Distance: 3.3 miles.  Time: 45 minutes.  MPH: 4.4
  • 10/5/10: Distance: 3.2 miles.  Time: 40 minutes.  MPH: 4.8
  • 10/12/10: Distance: 3.8 miles.  Forgot to note time and MPH
  • 10/16/10: Distance: 2.9 miles.  Forgot to note time and MPH
  • 11/1/10: Distance: 3.1 miles.  Time: 36 minutes.  MPH: 5.16
  • 11/6/10: Distance: 5.1 miles. Time: 60 minutes.  MPH: 5.1
  • 11/14/10: Distance: 3.9 miles. Time: 45 minutes.  MPH: 5.2
  • 11/28/10: Distance: 4.2 miles. Time: 46 minutes.  MPH: 5.47
  • 1/4/11: Distance: 3.0 miles. Time: 34 minutes.  MPH: 5.3
  • 1/24/11: Distance: 4.4 miles.  Time: 45 minutes.  MPH: 5.86

My fastest jog ever!

Keep it up, David!

 

10 Responses to A Two-Week Hiatus From the Scale

  1. james singleton says:

    Hey David, I just read your blog that is great. I have done the same thing when I first started to run I started on Nov 8th on my treadmill i walked and jogged about 30min about a mile now I am up to 3 1/4 ,ile in 45mins. I do it every other day my goal is to get up too 5 miles. But keep up the good work!!

  2. Lanae says:

    I hope you don’t get tired of hearing what an inspiration you are because I’m going to continue to tell you that! I am on a similar weight loss/life change journey. For the first time since 2002 I am not in cancer treatment. The docs won’t say the word “remission” but I’m close and so without that constant stress I figured this was my time to do something about the weight. I’ve lost only 35 lbs with a ton to go but I’m headed in the right direction. Bumping into your blog has been so helpful and I look forward to your wit, honesty, and humor. Thanks so much!!!

    • David says:

      I’m so happy to read your health is improving – wish you the best, and good luck with the weight loss, and so glad you’re enjoying the blog. Keep it up, Lanae!

  3. Meg says:

    Hey David, I think that is great that you maintained during a weeks visit home and for a funeral as well, (as they always involve so much food)! I love your graph! It’s such a great visual. I will be 50 years old in Oct. and I’m going to make a graph too. I would like to lose 50 lbs. by then. Maybe when you run out of wall, you can start your seventh sheet under the first sheet! Thanks for posting your blogs, I look forward to seeing them. Do you watch the Biggest Loser? They are on tonight!

  4. Michelle (Slyter) Thieling says:

    Like is not the word for it. I LOVE your blog and your attitude and how refreshing and eloquent you are throughout your journey. I have sent the link to your blog to so many friends and relatives. Keep it up David, and keep on writing about it!

  5. joni says:

    I am cracking up thinking about making my running course based on where the strip clubs are, but hey, if it motivates it motivates. I’ve always found running to be the unattainable fitness goal of life, but this year I’ve said “Bring it unattainable goal!” I’m only four weeks in and still walk/jogging, but I’ll get it. You are such an inspiration to us newbies.

    • David says:

      A few years ago I never would have guessed I’d be planning to run past strip clubs, but then again, I never would have guessed I’d be living around so many! Motivation comes from funny places sometimes, huh? And KEEP IT UP, Joni!

Leave a comment