Two New Thing Thursday

Last weekend at the farmers’ market, I bought a persimmons – the first persimmons that I ever bought.  Last night in this blog, I said I would eat it this morning for breakfast.  This morning… I ate it.  This afternoon, I tried a second brand-new (to me) food item – more on that later.  First, I’ll walk you through the persimmons.  Here’s the persimmons before meeting my knife:

Here’s what the inside of a persimmons looks like:

And here’s what it looks like after I sliced up one of the halves:

After cutting up the other half, I threw all the slices in a bowl and munched on it in the car on the way to work, while simultaneously texting and putting on my make-up.  Kidding – although I did eat in the car.

I enjoyed the persimmons.  It occurred to me that I had no idea if it was as ripe as it could be – the farmers’ market vendor said I should let it sit a day or two, and I let it sit for 4 – but it tasted good.  It had the crunch of an apple, but a mellow flavor, kind of a mixture of cantaloupe and apricot, maybe?  I’d definitely get another one – apparently we’re just entering persimmons season.

Later in the day, I was feeling really peckish between lunch and dinner, so I decided to purchase something out of the vending machine at the office.  These Genisoy Sweet Crisps were probably the healthiest thing in there, and I had never had them before, or even heard of the company, for that matter:

And once I opened the package:

They’re basically like little flavored rice cakes – except made primarily out of soy instead of rice – and they were “cinnamon streusel” flavored.  They reminded me of Cinnamon Toast Crunch cereal, in rice cake form.  Pretty tasty!  And only 90 calories and 3.5 grams of fat for the whole bag, so definitely a good snack.

In gym news, this is day 4 of no exercise.  Now I’m definitely just getting lazy. I was able to leave the office at a respectable hour (7:20pm), but decided to head home, write a blog, watch 30 Rock, and be in bed by 10pm.  I’m really tired.  This has been a long week.  Ok, I’m done whining.

I’ll end this post with a picture that will excite some of you…  it’s a salad!

Mixed greens, cucumber, cherry tomatoes, maui onion, sprouted red lentils and mung beans, capers, roasted piquillo peppers, and the juice of a lime.  Oh, and I sprinkled in some dried herbs to give it a little flavor boost – rosemary, dill, thyme, and fennel seeds – and then when I ate it I remembered I don’t really fennel.  Oh well.  I ate it anyway – it’s still a salad.

Keep it up, David!

5 Responses to Two New Thing Thursday

  1. thebettylife says:

    Salad looks yummy! 🙂

  2. Tracy says:

    I have only had one persimmon experience and it was not a good one! I’ll keep an eye on them and maybe try again.
    It’s really easy when you’re tired after work to find a reason not to work out, isn’t it? 🙂

    Enjoy your extra powerful and feel good work out tonight!

  3. Debbie says:

    I think the persimmon wasn’t ripe enough for you to eat…or maybe I’m just eating rotting fruit all the time. I think the texture should be more soft and pulpy…like a really ripe peach or a tomato. The outside should be more of a dark orange color.

  4. Crystal says:

    David, I am enjoying reading through your older posts. I thought I would tell you and any of your readers that there are two varieties of Perimmons. One is called a Fuyu Persimmon and the other is Hachiya. The Fuyu (which is the variety in the picture) can be eaten any time after it turns orange for a more crisp flavor like an apple eat it soon after its turned orange. You can make a salsa out of them that is wonderful. Dice them up mix with onions, jalapeños, cilantro a dash of nutmeg and cinnamon and eat them with baked corn chips, rice crisps, or in a grilled fish taco. Yummy!

Leave a comment