My Wine Glass Dilemma

Check out my kitchen cabinet – one whole shelf is dedicated to wine glasses:

Kitchen-cabinet-with-wine-glasses

I have 15 wine glasses. There’s only one problem: I don’t drink.

Well, let me clarify that a little bit. I rarely drink. In the 4+ years since I started losing weight, I’ve had a drink on 7 occasions: Last Christmas. On two different New Year Eves. At the wedding of my friends Heather and Adam. At a party celebrating the wedding of a Swedish princess (where I didn’t just drink, I got drunk). On a date at a fancy restaurant. And, last fall, I had a glass of Prosecco while taping a Food Network show (which is airing in about a month, stay tuned for details!).

Break out the abacus, and you’ll find it averages out to one event every 7-8 months. And none of those events happened in my own home. My kitchen is completely dry, except for a bottle of champagne that’s being saved for a TBD special moment, and a bottle of brandy for cooking that I haven’t touched in years. If I have friends over for dinner, I’ll make it a BYOB affair, and ask them to take any unconsumed B home with them.

All of this means I have very little use for the wine glasses. Since my kitchen is very small and has limited storage, I’ve been eyeing that shelf as a potential new home for my reusable water bottles and protein shake shakers, all of which are currently an eyesore because they live on the counter, as I have no place to put them.

Two items that will stay on the shelf are my “Passions” martini glasses, because swag from a cancelled soap opera are bound to be pricey collectors items one day, don’t you think?

Passions-martimmy-glass

Dusty!

They’re technically “Martimmy” glasses, named after the show’s signature drink, which was named after one of the show’s most famous characters, Timmy, a doll that came to life thanks to a witch’s spell and spoke in third person and was played by a little person named Josh Ryan Evans who, thanks to his particular type of dwarfism, looked like a small child until he died at age 20 from a congenital heart problem. See clips of Timmy in action here.

But I digress. I’m thinking of getting rid of my wine glasses, but am not sure what to do. Do I get rid of all of them? Occasionally a few of them get a little use, when I have guests, but that’s happening less and less frequently. I can imagine getting to a point where I might drink a little more socially than I do now, but I’m fine with limiting those occasions to ones outside my home. There’s no good alternative storage space for them either. And none of the glasses (except the Martimmy ones) have any sort of sentimental meaning, so were I to part ways with them, I’d probably just donate to Goodwill.

So… what would you do? Keep them? Give some or all away? Would not having any wine glasses make me a bad host? Speak up in the Comments Section!

Lastly, I told myself after last week’s 63-story stair climb race that I’d take a little hiatus from climbing stairs, but it turns out I couldn’t stay away for long. I took the subway downtown the other night, and was confronted with exactly 105 stairs to get back to street level.

staircase-civic-center-metro-station-los-angeles-red-line

I wasn’t dressed for a workout but that didn’t stop me from sprinting up them. And it was fun. And I forgot to time myself, although that would’ve been a nice touch. Maybe next time.

Keep it up, David!

 

14 Responses to My Wine Glass Dilemma

  1. Robin G. says:

    You drink like I do! I only have one set of red wine glasses. It’s hard to decide because if people come over with wine and they have to drink in plastic cups, that might not go over well with snooty like folks. I personally wouldn’t care. A cup is a cup. You could also double duty your wine glasses as dessert vessels for dinner. Serve some nice grilled pineapple or other stone fruit in it? Maybe you could install a hanging rack under your cabinets to make room for your water bottles? What ever you decide, good luck!

  2. Charlotte Cavaluzzi says:

    I too have an occasional glass of wine, but feel the need to have a few wine glasses for company on holidays. If I were you I would just keep a set of 4 glasses for such occasions. You could pack away your Passions glasses, and hope!

  3. Graham says:

    I bought some nice stemless wine glasses that also work well for water glasses / all the time use. They’re a great addition to my kitchen, and helpful too when people don’t want a 16 or 20 oz water glass (which were all I had).

  4. lisa says:

    I agree with Graham, get rid of all of them except the soap opera ones, then get the stemless glasses that might be stackable in your cabinets. Get eight, use them for everything,water, wine, soda, whatever people bring. I drink a little more than you do but hardly ever at home and I too have an ABUNDANCE of wineglasses, including some NEVER used Christmas glasses.

  5. Jen says:

    I would bet you could throw those Passions glasses on Ebay and sell them. Juice glasses also work well for wine glasses Italian style.

    • David says:

      Oh if this leads to an Ebay purge of “Passions” merchandise, then I’ll be busy for DAYS. I have a whole box of goodies in the closet!

  6. Cara says:

    David! I agree with Graham and Lisa. We love our stemless glasses. You can even buy small juice glasses and use them for wine (and water, and juice, etc.). Keep 4 around and ditch the rest.

  7. Sarah Van Houten says:

    Keep Four and put the rest in closet

  8. sarahlou1976 says:

    I have the same dilemma, I don’t drink wine, and hubby only drinks it when he goes out with work, yet I have 12 wine glasses ready for when friends come over (which is maybe once a month), and all my blender bottles and water bottles are on the side too. I keep thinking I will put them in a box and put them away, but never do.
    I like the idea of the stemless glasses

  9. Pat says:

    Glossed over the “Date at a fancy restaurant”; did I miss THAT posting?

  10. David says:

    Thanks for your input, everyone! Very helpful – and good to know I’m not the only one to have this particular situation! For now, I’m going to keep 4 and donate the rest. I’ll keep my eyes open for stemless glasses, and if I find some I like, I may get rid of those final 4, too. Time will tell!

Leave a comment