Black Bean and Corn Salad

My friends Heidi and Tom had a lunch get-together today, and it was absolutely fantastic.  They set a high bar: they served 4 courses, plus an appetizer, and it was all delicious.  I won’t go into all the specifics, mainly because Heidi just re-started her own blog, and will surely post photos and details there, but I will say that they calculated the calories in every dish they prepared, and typed up a menu so we knew exactly what was in every dish, and what the calorie damage was.  ‘Damage’ is the wrong word, since everything was very healthy and light, but you get what I mean.  Heidi and Tom are really passionate about trying new things, adapting recipes, and finding creating and inspired ways to eat well, and it was a treat to be included when they share their love.

I offered to contribute to dish, and ended up bringing along my Black Bean and Corn Salad.  This has been a go-to bring-along salad for a few years now.  It’s colorful and festive, tastes wonderful, has cheap ingredients, and it’s pretty easy to put together.  You can easily modify it depending on your mood, or what you have in your fridge and cupboard – I don’t think I’ve made it exactly the same way twice.

Take a look for yourself – and the recipe follows.

Black Bean and Corn Salad

Ingredients:

  • 1 can (15 oz) black beans – rinse ’em and drain ’em
  • 1 can (15 oz) corn – drain ’em
  • 1/2 cup scallions
  • 1 cup sliced celery
  • 1 large red bell pepper, diced (I have smaller peppers right now, so I used 1 1/2 of those)
  • 1 small can (2.25 oz) sliced black olives
  • Other options: I’ve used different colored bell peppers before, or added some roasted red pepper, or 1 cup of diced cucumber or zucchini, or 1/2 cup of diced red onion instead of the scallions.

Dressing:

  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • 2 teaspoons red wine vinegar
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced in a garlic press (I like garlic, so today I used four cloves)
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin (I actually forgot to add this today, oops!)
  • 1 cup salsa – I use whatever catches my eye at the store.  Today, I used Tequila Lime Salsa that I found at Whole Foods, which, FYI, doesn’t actually have tequila in it.

Directions:

Chop up the veggies so everything is uniform and roughly about the same size as a black bean.  Add the black beans, corn, scallions, celery, red peppers, and olives in a big bowl.  In a separate bowl, mix together the dressing ingredients.  Add the dressing to the salad, give it a toss, and that’s it!

I told you it was easy.

I figured out the nutritional data using a recipe calculator I found here.  The salad can serve eight, and each serving works to be 137 calories, and 1.5 grams of fat.

My friends loved it, and so will yours!

Keep it up, David!

7 Responses to Black Bean and Corn Salad

  1. Lisa says:

    Sounds great! We do something similar with the same ingredients for the salad, stir in a jar of salsa for a great dip and it’s wonderful on baked potatoes.

  2. Meg says:

    YUMMY! I’m making this today, to go with some chicken enchiladas! THANKS David.

  3. Marcy Fabian says:

    Can’t wait to make this…I’m going to have it with White Cod!Trying to eat a lot more Fish.

  4. Mimi says:

    This sounds so refreshing and the perfect dish for me!!!

Leave a Reply

