“Pat” Sheds Some Light – A Follow Up

This post is a follow-up to “Question of the Day: Stop Now or Keep Going?” – which I posted last night.  If you haven’t read it yet, click here to do so.

At the end of my last post, I offered”Pat” (actual identity purposefully withhold) the opportunity to clarify or provide additional insight into their position, which, in a nutshell, is the suggestion that I slow down my weight loss.  Here is what Pat emailed me earlier today:

Email Subject Line:  Am I Pat?

“LOL….well first of all, I didn’t recommend that you stop dieting now, but that you slow down your weight loss.  And I don’t disagree that you are eating healthy, and planning your meals etc. It just seems that you are a bit manic now, which I saw in [name of mutual acquaintance withheld] – blogging, exercising, food shopping.  Your diet takes up a pretty high percentage of your waking hours I’d guess.  That is Wonderful and Necessary as you are sooo successful, I don’t deny that the diet is necessary and fun etc.  I guess I foresee that you will eventually have a life style with less emphasis on daily calories and exercise.  Hopefully, you’ll just tweak what you are doing now by adding calories (in protein form), so my suggestion is to do it sooner than later, as a “normalizing” thing.  But you can certainly wait another 20-40 lbs. to do this. (I wasn’t sure of your goal weight.) I’m just telling you what I’ve witnessed in myself and watching [name withheld] diet over the yrs. and I’m anxious to help you avoid pitfalls and bounce back and I’m anxious to see how you settle into a lifestyle of maintenance. Does it make any sense that if you have (for instance) your final 10 lbs. to lose that you lose it 1 lb. a week, so that when you attain your goal weight, it will be easier to maintain?

Sorry, if I’m jumping the gun too soon and sorry if I caused you any sleeplessness.  You are truly an inspiration to me and many others.”

Thanks, Pat.  I think your arguments hold some water, and I know I found this clarification helpful.  The example you used, about losing the final 10 pounds, makes a lot of sense.  I suppose that maybe you and I just have a different perspective on how much more I have to lose.  I know the commonly-used BMI chart isn’t perfect (with the main criticism being that it doesn’t distinguish between muscle and fat – read more about it here), but according to it, if I lost 40 more pounds beyond my next goal of 152, I’d still be “overweight.”  Again, I don’t know what my next goal will be yet, and 40 more pounds would surely be very ambitious, but I just bring it up to show that despite my weight loss, I still have a ways to go.

Our conversation the other day, Pat, led to some very helpful and interesting comments, and anything that sparks a dialogue is a good thing.

Keep it up, David.

One Response to “Pat” Sheds Some Light – A Follow Up

  1. :-) says:

    I still disagree with Pat. I think we could all learn from your “obsession” with your food planning and working out. There is absolutely nothing wrong with planning your meals and spending time at the gym. It is a healthier lifestyle and a lesson for all of us only you can prevent any sort of bounce back but if you keep it up you wont have a peoblem. You are an inspiration. Keep it up David.

Leave a comment