Behind The Scenes at the Bowflex Webcast

I’m back from Portland! What a fun trip. The biggest highlight was definitely the live Q&A webcast with Bowflex, but there were other highlights too. Did you miss the webcast? Watch the video right here!

If for some reason the YouTube video isn’t working for you, you can also watch the video by clicking here. (Warning: I couldn’t get it to work in Firefox, but it worked in Chrome. You may need to try a couple different browsers, too!)

This particular screengrab from the webcast is right around when things got emotional for me and I had to fight back the urge to cry (around the 27-minute mark).

This moment is from when things got emotional for me and I had to fight back the urge to cry (around the 27-minute mark).

The webcast started bright and early, at 8am, but my day started at 5:15am, when I hit the hotel gym (excitement and nerves prevented me from getting a good night’s sleep, so waking up early was not a problem). I took it as a good sign when, during my 35 minutes on the elliptical, a Bowflex commercial popped up during a cable rerun of “Law & Order: SVU.”

Bowflex-Informercial-on-TV

We pulled up to the Nautilus headquarters in Vancouver, Washington (just across the river from Portland) around 7am. Nautilus is the company that owns the Bowflex brand, and they also make home exercise equipment under the Nautilus and Schwinn brands, too.

Nautilis-Headquarters

There’s a product showroom off the lobby, and that served as our studio for the webcast. They were already setting up lights and equipment when we arrived.

Setting-Up-Webcast

Here what I was looking at from my spot on the couch:

My-View-From-Webcast

The webcast lasted an hour, and we answered lots of questions that were sent in from viewers across the country. Rob, the Bowflex exec that served as moderator, did an excellent job keeping things moving and involving all three of us on the couch (he’s also an incredibly nice guy, and funny, too). Next to me was Brooke, who has lost 172 pounds (and blogs about it here). Brooke is super cool and great to hang out with.

David-Garcia-Brooke-Birmingham

The two of us have, combined, lost over 330 pounds!

On the other side of Brooke was Tom Holland, Bowflex’s fitness expert. Tom is exactly the sort of trainer I would want. He’s smart, insightful, and approachable, and also really listens and adapts his messages and advice, so it’s easy to learn from him.

An hour may be a long time, but it flew by. I haven’t watched the whole video yet, but I’ve been told I did a good job making my points, providing advice and information, and sharing my story. And while a lot of it is now a blur, I remember it feeling effortless at the time, mainly because Rob was so genuine and set a casual, relaxed tone, and also because so many great questions were submitted.

Rob-David-Brooke-Tom

After the webcast was over, we got a group photo.

After the webcast, the folks at Nautilus had a full day of fun stuff planned. Some more bloggers showed up (Karen from SubMommy.com, Toku McCree from MindFitMove.com, Poppy from Facing40.com, Carol and Josh from All Mommy Wants, and Melissa from MelissaKaylene.com), and we were welcomed by the CEO. We toured their offices, and saw the biggest, best office gym ever. Employees there are encouraged to go exercise basically whenever they want, even if it’s in the middle of their work day. There are informal classes and meet-ups so people can support each other and learn new things.

Nautilus-Corporate-Gym

We learned about current and upcoming products, and they even gave us a little something to take home (which I’ll share in an upcoming post). I got to try out the Bowflex MAX Trainer, a new cardio interval machine that condenses a full workout into 14 minutes – and it’s awesome. It’s really hard, but completely engaging, too, so the minutes fly by.

David-Max-Trainer-Bowflex

That afternoon, we took a field trip to Multnomah Falls, a beautiful waterfall 45 minutes east of town, in the Columbia River Gorge. It rained the whole time, but that didn’t stop us from going on a great hike. The only thing the rain prevented me from doing was taking a lot of photos, and there were photos ops all over the place. Too bad smartphones and water don’t mix!

I did get a few photos, though. Here’s the star attraction: a 620-foot, two-tiered waterfall (the largest in Oregon):

David-Multnomah-Falls

There’s a trail to the bridge in the photo, and the trail continues all the way to the top. It’s a good, steep hike (2.6 miles total), with a 620-foot elevation change. Here’s the view of the Columbia River from the top:

View-From-Top-of-Multnomah-Falls

A kind stranger took a group shot:

Bowflex-Multnomah-Falls-Group

I’m in the back, and in the front, from left to right, is Marisa, John  and Julie (all Nautilus folks), Poppy, Brooke, Tom and Melissa. The only person missing is Kali (from Nautilus’s PR agency), who was moving a little slower because she accidentally brought two left shoes with her. (Note to self: Don’t pack a gym bag in the dark!)

Of course the rain stopped a few minutes after we started driving away from the falls, and by the time we got to Hood River, a cute little town even further up the Columbia river, the sun was shining – and the river was full of kitesurfers and windsurfers.

Columbia-River-Hood-River-Oregon

After an excellent dinner (I tweeted photos of everything I ate all day long) we headed back and I flopped down on the bed as soon as I reached my hotel room, exhausted. Two workouts, a big webcast interview, and everything else made for a long day, but, like I said at the beginning, it was a great one. The folks that planned everything (Rob, John, Marisa, Julie, Kali, and folks I didn’t get to meet) did a bang-up job, and I’m thankful they provided me the opportunity to participate.

It really is an honor to be invited to do anything where I’m able to share my story. Sometimes I think back on all the years that I spent being ashamed of my weight, and how the last thing I would want to do is talk about it. Man, how things have changed. Now, my weight has become a story that others want to share and hear, and all because I had the strength and courage to make a change.

Keep it up, David!

————————

Follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and Google+. There’s also a “Sign Me Up” box at the top of the right-hand column on this page where you can subscribe to receive new posts via email!

10 Responses to Behind The Scenes at the Bowflex Webcast

  1. Tanya Clapshaw says:

    David,

    I am so glad you had a great time! I was sorry I didn’t get a chance to meet you while you were here, and hope the rain didn’t foil your plans too much ☺

    Tanya Clapshaw
    Nautilus, Inc.
    Consumer Operations Team Lead
    1-800-Nautilus (628-8458) Ext. 5167
    Direct Line: 360-859-5167
    Fax: 800-952-8094

    [http://nautilus.scene7.com/is/image/Nautilus/Nautilus_logo_81x57][http://nautilus.scene7.com/is/image/Nautilus/Bowflex_logo_81x57][http://nautilus.scene7.com/is/image/Nautilus/Schwinn_logo_81x57][http://download.dfxi.com/creative/UNV/unv_logo.jpg]

    • David says:

      Believe me, Tanya, the rain was wonderful. Coming from a place where it rains three times a year, and never more than a sprinkle, a good downpour is always welcome. Sorry I didn’t meet you either. Next time!

  2. Leah says:

    You were in Portland and didn’t come for a visit?! Next time you MUST!

  3. Jeff Dinkin says:

    Glad you had an awesome experience! The show was very good, right from the 1st question asked. 🙂

  4. I watched the interview live (I *had* to given it was you & Brooke — two of my fave bloggers!). You guys did great! I also thought the host did an exceptional job with pacing and keeping everyone engaged.

    Isn’t the Multnomah Falls hike great?! I’ve done it twice as well as a lot of other hikes in the Columbia River Gorge area. Living in SoCal, I just love how lush and green everything is in that area and that there are waterfalls pretty much every time one turns their head. LOL So glad you have such a fun trip and got to experience this! 🙂

    • David says:

      No doubt that the Gorge would be home to a ton of awesome hikes! Thanks so much for watching, Mel – and thanks for the kind words! 🙂

  5. submommy says:

    It was great meeting you again, David! I had a great time at this event, and whenever I meet people whose determination and strength inspire me (you and Brooke), well, that’s an awesome day. I hope we meet again!

Leave a Reply

