Easy Green Bean Salad

Need an easy veggie side dish? How about a dish that does double duty as a side or a salad? Check out my Easy Green Bean Salad!

Fish-and-Easy-Green-Bean-Salad

The salad, dear friends, is on the right. On the left is a piece of fish that I rubbed with a salt-free lemon pepper spice blend and pan-seared. The fish was a wahoo steak, and I had never heard of a wahoo fish before, let alone eaten one. But it was very dense and steaky, and would have been delicious had I not overcooked it. Thank goodness this recipe is for the salad!

RELATED CONTENT: Baked Green Bean Fries

Making the salad is simple. You start by making the dressing, which I made in the bottom of a big bowl, so it was already there when it was time to add the other ingredients. I began with the zest and juice of one lemon.

lemon-zest-and-juice-in-bowl

The lemon was small and, honestly, not very juicy, so I added a tablespoon of red wine vinegar, too, just to up the acid levels. Next, add a shallot – I diced the entire thing.

diced-shallot

After that comes a jar of diced pimientos. Pimientos are a Spanish pepper. They’re sweet, not hot, and you can often find them jarred, either diced, cut into strips, or whole. I strained out the excess liquid and just used the pepper pieces.

jarred-pimientos

Pimientos are a standard ingredient in paella, and I grew up eating them a lot. The jars are tiny – this one was 4 ounces – and I remember whenever my mom made paella, we would save the jar, because they were the perfect size for my dad to use to store screws and nails in his basement workshop.

RELATED CONTENT: Lots More Salad Recipes on my Recipes Page!

Next up: anchovies! Oh my, do I love anchovies. If you don’t, then leave them out. I don’t really care. But I only used 4 fillets, to add some saltiness to the dressing.  I cut them up into little pieces, and once I stirred things around, I couldn’t even see them anymore.

anchovy-filets-with-tin

I was planning on adding olive oil, and since the anchovies were packed in oil, I added about a teaspoon right from the tin.

Stir everything all up, and voila! You have a chunky, delicious, complex dressing.

easy-shallot-pimiento-salad-dressing

Meanwhile, steam about 1 pound of trimmed green beans. I started steaming them before I put together the dressing, and they were just about done when the dressing was finished. When the beans are tender all the way through, dump them right into the bowl.

Steamed-green-beans-in-salad-bowl

These beans – which came from the LA Salad Company – were gorgeous, bright green and pre-trimmed for my convenience. One more ingredient (which I forgot to photograph):  about a half cup of chopped fresh parsley.  Add that with the beans, and toss everything all around. You already saw the finished product, but here it is again:

Easy-Green-Bean-Salad-Close-Up

It was so good. I ate it warm – the heat from the beans warmed up the dressing – but I bet it’d be equally tasty cold, too. The pimientos were sweet, the shallot added oniony flavor, and the parsley and lemon made it super bright and fresh. I went back for seconds. So good!

Keep it up, David!

2 Responses to Easy Green Bean Salad

  1. Nurse Karen says:

    YUMMY! Can’t wait to try this recipe!!! I like anchovies, too. You think of the best ideas…healthy, too.

Leave a Reply

