Walnut-Crusted Fish

I have a quickie recipe for you today. I didn’t take many pictures, partly because I was dealing with raw fish and didn’t want to touch my camera, and partly because I didn’t really know how this was going to turn out. It turned out well, though, and I wish I had more photos, but I don’t, so we’re all just going to have to deal.

Here’s how to make a simple Walnut-Crusted Fish.

I used flounder, but use tilapia, salmon, or whatever fish you’d like. This is a recipe for one (yay bachelor life!), so adjust measurements accordingly to feed your brood.

In a shallow bowl, mix 1 tablespoon lite mayo with 1 tablespoon spicy brown mustard (or Dijon, if you’d prefer). In another shallow bowl, chop up walnuts into small pieces. I used about 1/3 cup.

Take your thawed fish fillets (in my case, I had two pieces of flounder that equaled 4 ounces) and coat one side of them with the mayo/mustard mixture. Then, dredge that same side in the walnuts, until walnut pieces cover the entire surface. (A note about walnuts – only chop what you think you might use. You can always add more walnuts to the bowl if you need them, but don’t go apeshit bonkers and chop up way too many, because you’re not gonna want to put any unused walnuts back into the bag after they’ve been touched by raw fish.)

Slick a skillet with Pam and put it on medium heat. When it’s hot, lay the fish pieces fish side down, walnut-side up and don’t touch them. Just let them go about 5-6 minutes, until the fish is fully cooked (my fish was thin, if your fish is thick, then it may need more time).

Ta-da! Walnut-Crusted Fish!

Walnut-Crusted-Flounder-Yellow-Wax-Beans

I made a side dish of yellow wax beans. At first I thought I’d saute them, but they didn’t seem to be cooking, so I added about 1/2 cup of water to their skillet, threw on a lid, and steamed them with rosemary.

Walnut-Crusted-Flounder-Close-Up

The walnut crust is thicker than the fish! The walnuts of course added crunch, but the layer of mustard and mayo added some creaminess and flavor. Easy, healthy, and delicious = a perfect lunch.

Speaking of food, I got very excited the other day when I passed a new supermarket that’s kinda sorta in my neighborhood. I was driving home after dropping a friend off somewhere, and I was in a part of town that’s not too far, but in a direction that I very rarely travel, and that’s when I saw this:

Super-King-Market-Van-Nuys

It made my morning. Super King is a local chain of grocery stores with only a handful of locations. They have the best produce prices I’ve ever seen. A few years ago, Super King was a regular feature on this blog. I wrote about buying an entire bag of produce for under 11 dollars. I wrote about buying nine pieces of fruit for $1.65. I shared funny photos of their terribly misspelled signs.

That Super King location was way over in a different part of town, but at the time, I was over there once a week for a class I was taking, so it was no big deal to swing by and stock up on fruits and veggies. I haven’t been to Super King since I stopped going to that class. This Super King – which apparently opened last summer and why didn’t anyone tell me? – isn’t exactly around the corner, but it’s much closer. I didn’t have time yesterday to go in and check it out, but I soon will.

And I can’t wait!

Keep it up, David!

Leave a Reply

