Thanksgiving 2013: A Success!

Thanksgiving 2013 is over. It was a great day: lots of laughs, good times with family, and a 5-hour game of Risk, during which I managed to lose twice (I lost, then I took over my sister’s armies, and lost again). And, of course, there was a delicious, fantastic meal.

The day started early. My brother-in-law Justin always takes the lead on dinner, but we all help out. I chopped a ton of veggies, peeled a ton of potatoes, and steamed some broccoli for a side dish.

And, drum roll please…. I kept my pledge to not overeat! My Thanksgiving pledge had 4 parts. You can read lots about it here, but I’m gonna sum it all up below, as I go through each part and recap my day.

Here were my rules:

1) NO SECONDS. I will indulge in a reasonable portion of whatever food I want, and I give myself permission to enjoy that food, but I will not go back for more. This includes dessert.

Done and done!

2) I WILL PHOTOGRAPH EVERYTHING I EAT DURING THANKSGIVING DINNER.

The traditional first course at our Thanksgiving is an oyster soup. It’s not very healthy (lots of butter and cream), but I didn’t finish this whole bowl:

Oyster-Stew

Main course, clockwise from top: roasted Brussel sprouts, green bean casserole, stuffing, turkey with cranberry sauce, mashed potatoes and gravy, steamed broccoli:

Thanksgiving-Plate-2013

We made apple and pumpkin pies for dessert, and I had a slice of apple:

Apple-Pie-Slice

3) NO GRAZING. A new rule for 2013! I will not graze or pick at food as it emerges from the oven or gets transferred to serving platters or leftover containers. I must place all food that I intend to eat on a plate, and eat it at the dinner table.

I was tempted. This was the hardest rule to keep – especially during clean up. At one point I popped a piece of gum, which helped. But I didn’t cheat!

4) EXERCISE! A new rule for 2013! This one is simple: I will exercise on Thanksgiving Day.

Around 8:30 in the morning, I went for a run and ended up going about 3.2 miles. It was through a local park that had workout stations, so I stopped a bunch of times to do sit-ups, step-ups, push-ups, body curls, and jumping jacks. Total duration of exercise was 45 minutes.

There you have it! A successful, guilt-free, tasty holiday. I have a couple more days in Colorado before heading home, and I’m looking forward to more family time and a couple more workouts!

Keep it up, David!

Leave a Reply

