Black-Eyed Pea and Canadian Bacon Salad

Need an easy, healthy salad recipe? I got one for ya! I made this over the weekend to take to a BBQ, and it was a hit. It was the first time I’ve bought black-eyed peas, and quite possibly the first time I’ve eaten them, and you know how I love trying new things!

Before we get to the black-eyed peas, though, let’s address the other titular ingredient: bacon! Canadian bacon, to be exact. Canadian bacon should be your healthy-eating go-to breakfast meat. It’s low in fat and calories, although, like many packaged meats, it isn’t low sodium (more on sodium later). I bought a 5-ounce package (10 slices), and seared each slice for a couple minutes on each side in a skillet coated with Pam. I just wanted to get a little color on them.

canadian-bacon-skillet

While the bacon was sizzling, I got to work chopping, slicing, and dicing. Have a big bowl ready, and add all these veggies as you go. First up, I grated 2 big carrots:

grated-carrot

Then, I diced an entire yellow pepper. Plus, I had the 2 little home-grown bell peppers my friend Joanne gave me last week, so I diced those up as well:

chopped-bell-pepper-yellow

Next, 3 bunches of scallions, thinly sliced. I only used the white and light green parts:

chopped-green-onions-scallion

Then, a couple dozen cherry tomatoes (about half of a pint-sized package), that I cut in half:

sliced-cherry-tomatoes

Finally, I took a bunch of watercress, washed it, and separated the leaves from the stalks. This took a while, and if you don’t have the patience, you can rough chop a handful or two of spinach or arugula. Watercress is a lettuce with a kick – it’s kinda spicy, like a radish. I like it.

watercress-leaves

With all my chopping done, I got out my can opener. I used two 15-ounce cans of black-eyed peas, and one 15-ounce can of regular peas. I made sure to drain and rinse them all thoroughly:

blackeyed-peas-colander-strainer

Remember the bacon you were cooking? Of course you do, because now your whole kitchen smells like bacon, and that’s never a bad thing. Once it’s cooked and cooled, cut them into ribbons, and cut the ribbons in half:

chopped-canadian-bacon

And that’s your salad, ladies and gentlemen! For a quick, light dressing, I whisked together equal parts dijon mustard, honey, and red wine vinegar – maybe 3 tablespoons of each.

honey-mustard-vinaigrette

I prefer my salads barely coated with dressing, but if you prefer a more thorough soaking, then go ahead and make more dressing – it’s oil-free, and that’s a good thing!

Ready for the finished product? Check this out!

blackeyed-peas-bacon-salad

blackeyed-peas-bacon-salad-fork

It’s fantastic. Colorful, lots of flavors, and a little bit smoky, thanks to the Canadian bacon. I enjoyed the black-eyed peas, although I’m sure if you blindfolded me I wouldn’t be able to tell them apart from other beans. One of the other guests at the BBQ said that black-eyed peas are supposed to bring luck, and who couldn’t use a little extra luck on their side?

Careful, though, before you go eating piles of this salad – it can be high in sodium. One serving of Canadian Bacon + one serving of black-eyed peas + one serving of canned peas = about half of your sodium for the day. Granted, I rinsed the peas and black-eyed peas, which hopefully washed off some of the added salt, and a serving of salad probably doesn’t contain full servings of any of those ingredients anyway, but still. The salt can add up, even in an unlikely dish like a salad!

Keep it up, David!

PS – This recipe is based on a similar recipe I found here, but like I always do, I modified it and swapped and added ingredients.

PPS – Want more salad recipes? There’s lots of them on my Recipes page – and I’ll have another new one next week!

3 Responses to Black-Eyed Pea and Canadian Bacon Salad

  1. Marc says:

    I grew up with black eyed peas being a staple food. Of course my mom was a poor kid from Oklahoma, so that explained it. Your recipe looks much more delicious than the way we had it at home…boiled and sprinkled with pepper.

  2. Mom says:

    looks deeeelicious!!

Leave a Reply

