Sore. Sore. Sore. Sore. Sore.

I slept terribly the other night. Why? Because I’m so incredibly sore. I’ve been pushing myself hard lately, in preparation for my climb up the stairs of the tallest building on the west coast, and I’m feeling it throughout my body. Most of the time, I don’t mind feeling sore. In fact, I like it – it means I’m doing something right. But last night, I was so sore that every time I shifted or turned in my sleep (and I toss and turn a lot), my entire lower body would starting aching, and I’d wake up.

It began late last week, a day after my brutal (and wonderful) workout on the public stairways in Silver Lake (read about it here). In total, I ran up over 1,800 steps, and ran down them too.

micheltorena-stairway

I followed it up, the next day, with a great lower body weightlifting workout, with some StairMaster as a warm-up. Saturday was a rest day, and but on Sunday I was back in the gym, completing a metabolic weightlifting program that I learned from my trainer, Mo. Then, on Monday, it was cardio: 46 minutes on the elliptical, and I worked hard to keep my heart rate in the aerobic zone. Tuesday, it was a session with Mo, where we focused on upper body. Like most trainers do, Mo did his best to kill me, so it was a tough and effective workout. I also did some StairMaster to warm up, and I jumped on an upright bike afterward, but after 10 minutes, I called it a day – I was just too tired.

The big stair climb is Friday. My plan is to complete 1 more cardio workout, on Wednesday – and probably not StairMaster. Then I’m going to make Thursday a rest day, so I’ll be fresh and ready for the big event on Friday. I got super excited the other day, because I was watching some show on Bravo, and there was an awesome aerial shot of the US Bank Tower that showed the roof and helipad where the race will conclude:

US-bank-tower-helipad-bravo

In just a few days I’ll be on that roof!

Oh, this is exciting! I have a weigh-in with Mo at the gym at the start of our sessions, once a week, and the gym scale shows that I’ve lost about 4 pounds in the past three weeks. This bodes well for my monthly at-home weigh-in, which will happen next week. I’ve noticed that my weight at the gym is about 2 pounds different from my weight on my own scale, but a loss is a loss, and I’m looking forward to updating my chart!

In other news, my eating has been pretty good, if a little on the boring side (which is why I haven’t blogged much about food lately). I’ve also been logging all my cardio, and I’m pretty sure I’m closing in on reaching my Cardio To Vegas fitness goal, but with the stair climb preparations being my top priority this week, a Cardio To Vegas update will have to wait until next week.

Keep it up, David!

6 Responses to Sore. Sore. Sore. Sore. Sore.

  1. Kari says:

    No wonder you are sore! I’m a little sore just reading about your workouts. 🙂 You’ll do great on the stair climb.

  2. Janet says:

    You’ll do great, David! A rest day on Thursday will be just what you need to rock the US Bank climb! Rooting for you from Colorado!

  3. Nurse Karen says:

    Cheering you on from north of Seattle. How about soaking in a warm tub of Epsom salts; schedule an all-over body massage, too, coupled for a good night’s sleep? I know you will ace the climb!

Leave a comment