Support My Climb… It’s Two Weeks Away!

I’ve been going gangbusters on the StairMaster during the past week and a half. The StairMaster has been part of 5 of my workouts, sometimes as my warm-up, sometimes as more. If you combine those 5 efforts, I’ve gone for 85 minutes and climbed 368 floors. Not too shabby!

There’s a reason I’ve been focusing on the StairMaster, and I was reminded of that reason the other day, when I came face to face with it downtown:

US-bank-tower-los-angeles

The US Bank Tower. Not only is it the tallest building in Los Angeles, it’s also the tallest building in California and the tallest building west of the Mississippi River. It’s 1,005 feet tall. It has 75 stories from sidewalk to roof. There are 1,679 steps in the stairwell. And, on Friday, September 27th, I’ll be climbing all of them in a charity race that supports the local YMCA. That’s only about 2 weeks away!

Here’s another photo of the US Bank Tower, with just the tip of the Aon Center poking in from the right. That’s right, just the tip:

US-bank-to-wer-aon-center

I’m climbed the Aon Center twice in charity events, but now it’s time to climb the tallest building around. It will be difficult. Grueling. Exhausting. But I will make it. And I will document it right here on this blog.

Read about my Aon Center climbs here and here. It’s a 63-story climb, and one time, I did it in under 16 minutes!

I’ve been training hard – and will keep that training going – but I need your help. Will you support me and my efforts by donating to the cause? My fundraising goal is small – $125 – so that means if just a handful of you donate a handful of bucks, I’ll be well on my way! All the money benefits the Ketchum-Downtown YMCA, which you can read about here.

Donating is easy. All you have to do it visit the Keep It Up, David fundraising page and click on the “Give Now” button. You’ll be glad you did. And so will I!

Thank you for reading through this solicitation, and I’ll hope you’ll consider opening your wallet or purse or pocketbook or murse or billfold or dig around in the seat cushions of your couch. In the meantime, I’ve already scouted a historic location to do some training, and I hope to make it there soon – I’ll share all the details here!

Keep it up, David!

Leave a Reply

