The Latest and Greatest on My iPod

I love listening to music while I’m working out, and I love adding new songs to my workout playlist. It’s always good to switch things up. And it’s been awhile – over a year – since I’ve posted about what I listen to while working up a sweat, so this is long overdue. Check out some of the latest and greatest additions to my playlist (with links to buy the songs on iTunes), and pipe up in the comments section with the songs you love to work out to!

For more workout playlist posts, click here and here.

My workout playlist runs the gamut from hip hop and dance music to classical to showtunes to rock. And my newest favorite songs are quite the eclectic bunch. I got turned on to Rodrigo y Gabriela a few weeks ago, when a friend lent me a CD of theirs. They’re a duo, from Mexico, that write and play energetic, instrumental acoustic guitar pieces. “Santo Domingo” because a quick addition to my workouts. The version I listen to is off their Live in France CD.

The newest rap song that I love is by an artist named Kid Ink. It’s called “Money and the Power” and I first heard it about two weeks ago on the HBO show “Hard Knocks,” which follows the Cincinnati Bengals football team through their training camp. The show used the song during a montage, and I paused the show, googled a line from the lyrics, and found the song. Two minutes later, it was purchased, downloaded, and on my iPod.

The same friend that lent me the Rodrigo y Gabriela CD also lent me a CD by a indie pop band from the UK called The xx. I had never heard of them before, but they must have a sizable fan base, because this video, for their song “Crystalised,” has 30 million views and they’re playing the Hollywood Bowl in a few weeks, and that’s a giant venue that seats 18,000. It definitely has a more loungey feel, but it still gets me moving.

When I’m in more of a rock mood, I turn on “Supermassive Black Hole” by the British band Muse. The song is 6 or 7 years old, but I started listening to it months ago after hearing it on NPR. The video is fun, although definitely kinda creepy, too:

Another piece I added to my list after hearing it on NPR is called “Life” by the Italian composer Ludovico Einaudi, who has scored a bunch of movies and commercials. It’s an instrumental piece, and while it starts quietly, and is perhaps a touch depressing, it builds nicely, and I like that. It escalates at the 2:03 mark, and keeps going from there, and I find it good for warming up.

I love Fiona Apple. Always have. She has a song on the “This is 40” soundtrack (I never saw that movie, but heard it wasn’t very good) called “Dull Tool” that I’ve been working out to since last December. I still haven’t tired of it. It’s complex, bold, different, and clips along, and more than once I’ve restrained myself from singing the chorus out loud in the middle of the gym.

Speaking of Fiona, I included another song of hers, “Hot Knife,” when I published a similar post last year. Earlier this summer, Fiona released a music video for that song, and it’s so cool. Simple, elegant, with multiple Fionas singing together. Check it out:

I listened to half this list during my workout tonight! I climbed the StairMaster for 25 minutes, which equaled 107 floors, and then spent 22 minutes on the ARC trainer. Did you workout today? What music did you listen to?

Keep it up, David!

4 Responses to The Latest and Greatest on My iPod

  1. I just wanted to tell you congratulations on your weight loss! I lost 158 pounds myself and it was hard but so worth it.

  2. Catherine says:

    You should try Podcasts. I found they really help me get through my running. I follow several podcast and they are usually right around an hour. Here are a few I follow: The Jillian Michaels Podcast, The Mark and Lynda Podcast (Mark, formerly of the Mark and Brian radio show on KLOS), The Larry Miller Podcast, and The BodyCast Podcast. All are available on iTunes.

    • David says:

      Thanks for the recommendations! Years ago I would work out while listening to podcasts. Back then it was a lot of NPR stuff, Ebert and Roeper, and others. Maybe I’ll give podcasts another go.

Leave a Reply

