…Because Second Tallest Is No Longer Good Enough!

I’m writing this post from an entirely new-to-me location – the Los Angeles Central Library! I jumped on the Metro this morning and headed downtown for a change of scenery, and ended up here, in a building that dates back almost 90 years.

Los-Angeles-Central-Library

I could hang out all afternoon in the rotunda (except there’s no seating in there):

Los-Angeles-Central-Library-Rotunda

To get to the library, I walked past a building that’s very familiar to me. Do you recognize it?

Aon-Center-Los-Angeles

It’s the Aon Center! Twice now, I’ve competed in races up the stairwell, from the sidewalk to the roof. The building is 63 stories, and it’s quite possibly the most intense physical activity I’ve ever completed. Read my 2013 recap and my 2012 recap for more information and lots more pictures!

The Aon Center is the second-tallest building in Los Angeles. Just a few blocks away is the tallest. It’s called the U.S. Bank Tower, and it clocks in at 1,005 feet tall and 75 stories.

US-Bank-Tower-Los-Angeles

It’s actually the tallest building west of the Mississippi, and, like at the Aon Center, once a year there’s a charity race up the stairwell. And today, while standing at an intersection between the two buildings, I made an impromptu decision.

Ascending the second-tallest building is no longer good enough. Time to climb the tallest one in town! Once I settled into a study cubicle at the library, I registered for the race. It’s at the end of September, and it benefits some local YMCA charities. Interested in climbing the tower too? Check out the website and sign up!

I’m sure I’ll be talking a lot more about this event in the future (and possibly maybe perhaps soliciting for donations to help me make my fundraising requirements), but for now, I want to circle back to a topic from a recent post.

A couple weeks ago, I wrote about how my new heart rate monitor was affecting my workouts. In a nutshell, I’m trying to execute all my cardio workouts with my heart rate between 140-157 beats a minute. That’s easier to do on some machines than on others. I can get myself to that range on the elliptical and ARC trainer pretty easily, and maintain it for longer stretches of time, too. I had the most trouble on the recumbent bike.

A few of you suggested, in the comments,  that I give an upright bike a whirl. It would get my heart rate up higher, as I’m supporting more of my own weight. Well, I tried it. And the verdict?  It was barely easier. Just barely. There’s just something with me and exercise bikes, where if the level is too high, I can’t pedal fast enough to get my heart rate up and if the level is too low, there’s not enough resistance to boost my heart rate. I haven’t found the happy medium yet. I’m not sure it exists.

But, on the other hand, I have gone for a couple runs with my monitor, and it turns out running is one of favorite activities with regards to my heart rate. I can easily escalate into my range, and staying there is easily maintainable as well. Plus, checking my monitor gives me something to do while running, which is a big plus, because I find that running can be a bit of a snooze. On my most recent run, I went a little over 4 miles, and my heart rate was in the zone for almost the entire time.

Speaking of 4 miles… isn’t it time I do a Cardio To Vegas update? I should start researching!

Keep it up, David!

2 Responses to …Because Second Tallest Is No Longer Good Enough!

  1. Marc says:

    No seating in a Library? How unusual:/

Leave a Reply

