An Epiphany In The Shower

I have one more quick story from Catalina that I didn’t work into the Catalina-centric post I published earlier this week. I mentioned in that post that we stayed in a very basic, no-frills hotel, but I didn’t get into specifics. My roommate Brendan and I were in the smallest hotel room I had ever seen. It was maybe 10’x10′, with double beds in two of the corners. There was a narrow aisle between the beds, about 2 feet of space at the ends of the beds, a tiny sink in the third corner, the door to the hall, a closet barely wide enough to hold a backpack, and that was it.

I’m not complaining – the hotel served my needs just fine, seeing as how I slept there and that’s about it. I’m just setting the scene. Next to the tiny sink was a door to the bathroom, which had a toilet and one of the tiniest shower stalls I had ever seen. If I were to guess, I’d say it was slightly more than two feet wide, and slightly more than two feet deep. Not very big at all.

small-shower-stall

The shower totally reminded me of the shower I had in an apartment I lived in during college. During my junior year, I lived in a small studio apartment on Huron Street in Ann Arbor, Michigan. My building was a house, converted to apartments, situated between a Mexican restaurant and a convenience store that also had a lunch counter that specialized in Persian food, and I frequented both establishments regularly. I might not have been quite as heavy as I was when I started this weight loss effort, but I was pretty big – probably 350 pounds. And every day I showered in my apartment’s tiny little stall shower.

I could barely turn around in that shower. I would bend over to wash my feet and my back would press up against the hot and cold water knobs. The shower head was low, so I had to bend down to wash shampoo out of my hair – which was something I had to do in the Catalina shower as well.

keep-it-up-david-shower

I used the tiny Catalina shower once, and over the course of that shower, I was flooded with memories from my year on Huron Street. And as I thought more about that Huron Street shower, the more I realized… that shower couldn’t have been as small as this one. The dimensions and layout of the bathroom would have allowed for a bigger shower. I remember it being a bigger shower.

Something was off in my memories. There’s something I’m not accounting for. But what?

And then it dawned on me: It’s me. I haven’t accounted for me. I’m much a smaller person than I used to be. That Huron Street shower was bigger, but so was I at the time, and I filled more of that shower than I would right now. Conversely, I don’t think the college version of me would fit in the Catalina shower at all.

But now? There’s no problem. I fit just fine. I was able to take a shower, and wash every body part easily and without incident, and I could turn around and everything. It was pretty awesome. And realizing that it’s because of my hard work, focus and drive that a tiny shower no longer poses a problem? Well, that’s pretty awesome too.

Keep it up, David!

3 Responses to An Epiphany In The Shower

  1. I’m reading a book right now called the Unapologetic Fat Girl’s Guide to Exercise (and other Incendiary Acts), and just finished a section on choosing a gym, and the importance of finding one with decent sized shower stalls. For all that I’ve struggled with my weight over the years, I’ve never been more than about 210, and even _I_ feel cramped in some of the stalls I’ve used in dorms and gyms. I can’t imagine how anyone bigger deals with those tiny little stalls!

  2. michelletf says:

    Just wanted to say “Hello” from Ann Arbor! I live just over 2 miles from that Mexican restaurant :), but they moved from Huron to Liberty.
    Congratulations on your journey! You look great and are inspirational to the rest of us on this journey 🙂

Leave a Reply

