It’s Not Cancer. Phew!

I’m back at home, hopped up on pain pills, with good news to report: I don’t have cancer. Woohoo!

My surgery was yesterday, and it went swimmingly. (Don’t know what I’m talking about? Catch up here.) The good news actually started coming in before the operation began. A week ago, my urologist had ordered some tests, including one to see if there were markers in my blood. Markers are chemicals that tumors create. They’re detectable in blood and can serve as signs that a cancer is present. My blood came back negative for all the markers.

The surgery itself also went well. After opening me up, the doctor located the paratesticular mass and discovered it was a nasty, stubborn infection. He was able to cut away about 70% of it, and left the rest to heal on its own. It really was the best possibly scenario. And I still have two testicles! That’s very good news.

I have a follow-up appointment soon. There are a bunch of questions I want to ask, and the doctor will make sure that I’m healing properly. I still haven’t seen the incision – I have to keep it bandaged for another day, but apparently it’s only 3 or 4 inches long.

The surgery was at 7:15am yesterday, and I got home around noon. Since then I’ve been sleeping a lot, reading magazines, and vegging out on the couch. The pain is consistent but light. It’s very manageable, especially if I don’t move around too much. I had been bummed that the operation would prohibit me from exercising, but at the moment, exercise is the last thing I want to do.

My mom is here to help out, and we have a fridge full of healthy food. I’ve been making good choices, and will continue to do so.

And that, my friends, is the update. Thanks for all the thoughts, messages, and good vibes you’ve sent my way!

Keep it up, David.

19 Responses to It’s Not Cancer. Phew!

  1. Congrats on the great news!

  2. Antonette King says:

    That’s great to hear! Very happy for you. Relax and heal, you can hit the exercise scene when your back to normal! Too much too fast will just have you laid up longer!!

  3. Mary says:

    Love when prayers are answered ! Love to your Mom too,David

  4. Bev Jull says:

    Glad to hear things went well!!!

  5. Pat says:

    What; no Photos? This blog used to be informative!

  6. Sylvia Hall says:

    Glad it all worked out well. Heal soon! So proud of all your hard work and the encouragement you give us all to keep on trying. You are an inspiration.

  7. TC says:

    Oh David, I was so worried about you and keeping you in my prayers. I am so happy things went well. I don’t post that much but read your blog all the time. You are such an inspiration. Keep up on the healthy choices.
    TC

  8. Congrats on your surgery and good news. Keep up the good choices and excellent journey! AND Take care of YOU!!

  9. Val Scott says:

    So happy to hear the positive outcome of your surgery. Now relax and l know your mom will take good care of you.

  10. Julie says:

    GREAT news!! Relax and heal!

  11. Coco says:

    Happy to know your huevos are doing intact and on the mend!

  12. sandydandy9 says:

    David! Phew is right! I was concerned for you! Remember last year when you and your mom met me and Molly for lunch by the Santa Monica pier? We are high school friends of your mom’s. I’ve been following your blog ever since! I love your posts! Just wanted to say how happy I am for you that things went so well! Please say hi to your mom for me and give her a big hug! Get well quickly so you can get back on the exercise wagon!! Love, Sandy Danaher Cox

    P.S. Molly met me and my granddaughter for lunch at exactly the same restaurant on Saturday!

    Sent from my iPad

  13. Ximena Ford says:

    Great news, take care of yourself and soon you’ll be ready to kick in some exercise.

  14. Kari says:

    Fantastic news!!! Get the rest that you need and keep up the healthy choices!

  15. Sue says:

    Great news David! Get up and running soon!

  16. Nina says:

    Doing the happy dance fpr.u David!!!!:-)

  17. Dana says:

    So happy to hear such great news! Rest and recover!

  18. Nurse Karen says:

    So happy! Thanks be to God!!! Continued prayers for your total healing.

  19. marco says:

    glad to hear it was not cancer. Hope you are back at 100% very soon.

Leave a Reply

