Q: How Did Day One Go? A: It Was A Success!

Hey folks, I have a quick little update.

First, I don’t need more reasons to get back on track – a 15-pound weight gain is enough, thankyouverymuch – but another one presented itself midway through my Friday when I popped a button on my pants. Ugh.

IMG_5691

I’m handy enough with a needle and thread to reattach this, but it does not feel good to literally break an article of clothing. I’m thankful those pants also had a decorative drawstring that lasted me throughout the rest of my day!

As I mentioned in my last post (read it here if you missed it), I set two healthy living goals for Friday, and I ended up meeting both of them. Woohoo!

Goal #1 was to make smart choices when I went out to lunch with friends, and I ended up ordering a big salad with mixed greens, apples, gorgonzola, and light dressing. I had them hold the candied walnuts.

IMG_5692

It was a fun lunch and the salad was delicious.

Goal #2 was to work out for the first time in over two weeks. I ended up spending some quality time on the cross-ramp elliptical at my gym. Check out my workout summary:

IMG_5693

Not too shabby! Sometimes I get annoyed when fitness experts on TV talk about how good exercise feels, because a lot of the time I don’t like doing it, even though it needs to get done. Last night was a good reminder, though, that those experts are right. It felt great to sweat and move, and it provided a good natural high for the rest of the evening.

I ended up capitalizing on reaching my two goals by adding a third goal, which was to stock up on healthy food. If you looked in my fridge during the past week, all you would’ve found was a bunch of condiments and a box of baking soda. I’m not exaggerating.  Making healthy choices is impossible when healthy options don’t exist in your house!

One of my favorite supermarkets is right down the street from my gym, so after my workout, I loaded up on the good stuff, including lots of fruit…

IMG_5695

…and vegetables…

IMG_5698

Not pictured: pantry items (low-sodium soups, beans), and protein sources (eggs, yogurt, tofu). I left the store and immediately thought of about 4 things I forgot, but I’ll get them next time.

I’m now on Day 2 of making smart choices. I’ve already worked out today (48 minutes on a recumbent bike), eaten well, and have lots of ideas about what to do with the contents of my newly stocked fridge.

Keep it up, David!

12 Responses to Q: How Did Day One Go? A: It Was A Success!

  1. Ugh, I hate popping a button or worse a non-seam rip. Good jobs achieving your goals. Hope you enjoy the rest of your weekend.

  2. Dawn says:

    You are quite an inspiration David! Wishing you great success on your new found goals! I wish I had your motivation!

  3. Val Scott says:

    Right on!

  4. mteehall says:

    Thank you David for reminding me that the best way to get back on track is to set daily goals.

  5. Nina says:

    HIP HIP HOORAY! HIP HIP HOORAY! Go David Go! 🙂

  6. I’m getting ready to post my “back on track” manifesto tomorrow morning — right there with ya! I like your idea of letting people know how it’s going day by day.

  7. Caron says:

    Thanks, David, for inspiring me to get up off my a** and start exercising again. Just yesterday I was whining about food being good and weight being good, but not being motivated to exercise. This morning I did a two mile walk and some exercises. It’s a start. 🙂

  8. Katie B. says:

    David – Sometimes, I also hate exercising, but I always feel good when it’s over. I ran my neighborhood 5k yesterday & hated every minute of it, BUT the pay-off was great. It made the rest of my Sunday really enjoyable knowing I worked-out!

  9. Julie says:

    You’re an inspiration! Keep going!

  10. Nurse Karen says:

    Back in the saddle again…yippee-ki-yay! ^_^

  11. Alexandria says:

    When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get four emails
    with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove me from that service?
    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

