Black Velvet Apricots

I stumbled across a variety of fruit the other day at the store. The sign said they were Black Velvet Apricots, and my ears perked up. Apricots are one of my favorite stone fruits – they’re the perfect size for a snack, and I can literally tear them in half with my fingers and remove the pit without my hands getting covered in juice. And you know me, I’m a sucker for never-before-seen produce items! So I bagged up 5 of these Black Velvet Apricots and brought ’em home.

If they look like plums, it’s because they are. Well, they’re half-plum and half-apricot – a hybrid, just like pluots, apriums, and plumcots are all hybrids (angelcots, meanwhile, are hybrids of two different apricot species). This blog post has a lot of great Black Velvet Apricot information – so definitely check it out.

The look like plums, with a slight fuzz on the outside, but the Black Velvet Apricot has a surprise on the inside…

…golden, orange-yellowish, apricot-colored flesh!

These mofos were juicy. One bite and my fingers were dripping. They were delicious – bright and sweet, and mine were perfectly ripe, to the point where they almost seemed to melt. Despite their coloring, they definitely tasted more plum-like, as opposed to apricot-like.

The skin, while thin, was pretty strong. For a couple of my Black Velvet Apricots, I took one bite and the entire skin came off, leaving a ball of flesh behind.

By the end, I was popping them in my mouth whole, as a mess-avoidance tactic!

Black Velvet Apricots definitely fall into the “buy again at once” column… I hope I see them next time I go to the store!

Keep it up, David!

3 Responses to Black Velvet Apricots

  1. Mary Ann says:

    I’m going to try to find these!

  2. Coco says:

    Great, now I have that Alannah Myles song stuck in my head.

Leave a Reply

