Construction Update

I have an update about the new building going up in my neighborhood. I blogged about the building last month, and the gist of the post was that I was hoping Hoping HOPING that it wouldn’t be an Arby’s, because if it was, it would be proof that the universe was out to sabotage me. Refresh your memory by reading the entire post here. Remember this picture?

The building isn’t finished yet… but it has been announced what it’s going to become.

I drove by the other day and saw this sign:

I see this as a good news/bad news situation. The good news is that my years and years of pre-weight-loss dreaming about an Arby’s opening near me has thankfully not come true. The bad news is that it’s still fast food, and I can add it to the list of about a dozen other fast food establishments that are well within running distance of my place. The funny thing is that two of those dozen are also Carl’s Jr restaurants – soon they’re gonna be everywhere. Actually, I wouldn’t be surprised if one of the other locations closed after this one opened, on account of it lacking a drive-thru. Yep, I frequented the fast food in my neighborhood so much back in the day that I know which have drive-thrus and which don’t.

I also get a kick out of how someone added job application information in the top right corner, but wrote it upside-down. Nicely done.

So I’m safe (for now) from Arby’s encroaching in my neighborhood, but I’m by no means completely out of the woods. Guess what’s located less than a block from my new job?

This is my third week at the new job, and so far the closest I’ve come to that Arby’s is driving by it. And that’s how it’s gonna stay. No Arby’s for me! And no Carl’s Jr, either, once that opens! I’m gonna stay away from fast food and then I’m gonna…

…Keep it up, David!

6 Responses to Construction Update

  1. Archibald Leach says:

    Now I know where you work…

  2. Samantha says:

    Carls Jr. is so awful…. in WW points-speak, there is almost nothing there under 20… and a whole day’s worth for me is 28! My used-to-be-favorite burger (the Western Bacon) is 39 by itself… and that’s not including the requisite fries and drink!!! Carl’s Jr. is the first fast food that I gave up and have never gone back. It’s so very very unhealthy. Good for you for giving it the stink eye, Keep It Up!

  3. Matt says:

    Archibald’s comment would have been far less creepy without the ellipses.

  4. Nurse Karen says:

    Ditto, Matt; let’s not forget he’s using a family name reserved for Hollywood legends. Egocentric stalkers tend to do that. ;-D
    As for fast-food: Applaud you, David, for avoiding the temptation; even if one tries to get a salad at those places, they are nasty messes served with high-fructose-corn syrup-laden dressings. Ick!
    Although in a pinch, I’ve had McDonald’s “fruit & walnut salad snack” & black coffee. I’m not as fantastically organized as you are to leave my apt with fresh cut-up veggies, fruits, nuts or jerky… Someday, in my dreams! Happy Day!!!

  5. I also don’t like fastfood eversince I watched the documentary regarding McD’s. I forgot the title.

Leave a Reply

