Cordon Bleu Toasts

Health-conscious. Figure friendly. Guilt-free.

I made an appetizer for my cousin’s birthday party that’s ALL OF THE ABOVE! Best of all, it tasted good. Really good. Wanna see how I made it?

Hope you said ‘yes’, because that’s what this post is about!

I call the recipe Cordon Bleu Toasts, and it’s inspired by a recipe in the Taste of Home Comfort Food Diet Cookbook.

I say ‘inspired by’ because I changed some ingredients and proportions to make it my own. The recipe is basically a spread that you smear on bread, and then toast. For the spread, you’ll need:

  • 6 ounces reduced fat Swiss cheese (it’s made with 2% milk). My store didn’t have it pre-shredded, but if yours does, buy it and save yourself some time.
  • 1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
  • 8 ounces nonfat cream cheese, softened
  • 4 ounces deli-sliced ham
  • 4 ounces deli-sliced chicken breast
  • 1/2 cup fresh chives.

Chop up the meat, cheese, and chives into uniform, small pieces. Mix all the ingredients together in a bowl. It’ll look something like this:

The original recipe in the book called for slices of French bread, but I ended up bringing home a new product that was perfect for this application. They’re called Flatout Foldit Sliders and they’re mini slider buns that are designed to be folded over whatever you put inside. The package had 18 slider buns total, and I cut each one in half, creating 36 pieces.

And look what I found on the back of the package!

Made in Michigan, just like me! I love the Flatout product line, and knowing they’re made in my home state is just another reason to keep buying them.

I spread about a tablespoon of the mixture on each slider half – I just just enough for all 36 – and lined them up on a couple baking sheets. Here they are going into the oven:

They baked in a 350-degree oven for about 18-20 minutes. You’d expect them to brown, but they don’t brown much at all, mainly because there’s not much fat in them (more on that soon).  But you do want the cheese to get all melty. The finished product, after they come out of the oven, looks like this:

Delicious! Because they’re creamy and cheesy, they taste like they should be bad for you… but here’s the best part. I busted out my calculator, examined the labels for all the ingredients, and crunched the numbers. Here’s what I came up with:

Each toast has a total of 37 calories and 1.2 grams of fat.

This plate of three appetizers has, altogether, slightly over 100 calories and less than 4 grams of fat!

Not a bad way to start a meal! And a helluva lot better than my last attempt at making something using the chicken cordon bleu flavor profile!

Keep it up, David!

5 Responses to Cordon Bleu Toasts

  1. vanessa says:

    sooooo if i eat about 30 of them …thats about 1000 calories???

    they look Delicious David!!

  2. Janet says:

    I just realize that I am not really using any cream cheese. You just opened a door to a wide range of “new” recipes for me. Yippie and thanks… 😉

    • David says:

      You’re welcome! I don’t use cream cheese that often, but I may go back and get another container of the non-fat kind just to have around.

  3. Sarah says:

    They look amazing! I want to eat them for breakfast

Leave a Reply

