Oops, I Did It Again

I don’t quote Britney Spears often, but the title of her hit song from 12 years ago (it hit #1 in 11 countries!) seemed fitting given what I just did to myself. I’ll let the photos tell the story:

BEFORE:

And… AFTER:

It’s not the first time I’ve shaved my head. I did it for the first time in about 4 years in April, and put together a clever little photo-essay about it that turned out to be quite popular (check it out here). That time, my friend Tavi did the honors of shaving my head, but Tavi left town shortly thereafter for seven months. But I had my thinking cap on, and before Tavi left, I asked if I could hold onto his clippers, you know, just in case I had the urge to shave my head again. Tavi complied, and whatdya know? The urge returned. Oops, I Did It Again.

One more photo for today – and it’s a produce haul! I went to the store the other night after leaving the gym. I just wanted to run in and out really quickly. The goal wasn’t to buy tons of produce – just a few items to last me a few days until I had time for a bigger shopping trip. I didn’t wanna spend a lot of time shopping that night for one reason: I was hungry. And shopping while hungry is BAD NEWS. Don’t do it, folks, you’ll end up with more in your cart than you were planning on buying, and chances are some of those items will be impulse items you normally wouldn’t get.

That’s exactly what happened the other night. Kind of. I did buy much more than I was planning, but thankfully it was all produce. And that’s because I forced myself to shop solely in the produce section, where temptation is rather low (and, if it does strike, it’ll be for a healthy item). It worked – I managed to get out without buying anything I’d later regret. There are non-produce things I still need to stock up on – like eggs, yogurt, and maybe another lean protein source or two, but they’ll have to wait until next time. I’ll survive.

Here’s what I ended up bringing home:

From left to right, top to bottom (in columns), we have: blueberries (3 containers – they were 99 cents each – score!), yellow peaches, red peppers, a cucumber, broccoli, pluots (plum/apricot hybrid), bananas, cherries, spinach, celery, zucchini, baby carrots, roma tomatoes.

There’s nothing new and exciting for me to try (like my recent purchases of lychees and squash blossoms), but they’re things that I love, and that I look forward to eating. Especially the pluots, peaches, and cherries, because I love stone fruits, and they’re finally in season!

Keep it up, David!

Leave a Reply

