Back on the StairMaster

Happy Anniversary to me! It was one month ago today that I stepped on a StairMaster, fired it up, and climbed 163 stories without stopping – the equivalent of the Burj Khalifa, the world’s tallest building. There’s a wonderful little 3-minute video documenting my achievement that I’ll never get tired of sharing, so, in case you missed it the first time around, check it out:

You can also see pictures and read about the climb here.

After reaching my goal, I vowed to stay off the StairMaster for a good long time. I was sick of it. I didn’t even want to look at it!

Yesterday, I used the StairMaster for the first time. A month seemed like a good answer to the question “how long is a ‘good long time?'”

Now that both of my big stair climb challenges are over (read about the first, my climb up the Aon Center, here), I need to reintroduce the StairMaster as a regular activity in my workout arsenal. It’s a fantastic workout, and I can burn a ton of calories in a short amount of time, so I need to put it in rotation with the other cardio exercising that I do: Richard Simmons’ classes, recumbent bike, ARC Trainer, AMT trainer, seated (or standing) elliptical, running, and swimming laps. I figure if I use a StairMaster once every 1 to 2 weeks, than that’d be fine by me. Plus, I get to keep adding to my Skyscraper Collection, and that’s also a bonus!

Yesterday’s workout at the gym began with 7 minutes of inclined walking on the treadmill. This is a fairly standard warm-up for me. What I do is set the speed to 4mph, and, over the course of 5 minutes, I keep increasing the incline until it’s 18 or 20 degrees. Because my gym has fancy treadmills that can also decline, I then switch from 20 degrees incline to 3 degrees decline, and do a couple additional minutes downhill. By the end of my warm-up, I feel loose, my heart rate is escalated, and I’ve broken a sweat. Mission accomplished.

Yesterday’s workout continued with almost 35 minutes of weight lifting, starting with bench press (3 sets x 15 reps of 95 pounds). Apart from some core work and some rows, I ended up focusing my time on my shoulders, and did shoulder presses, deltoid raises, shrugs, and a few other things.

Time for the StairMaster. I’ll be honest and say that I felt sluggish when I got the machine going, and that’s probably because 1) It’s been so long since I’ve used it, and 2) I was pretty tired from my workout thus far. But it did feel good to be on the StairMaster for basically the first time in 2012without a stair climb event looming in the future!

I didn’t give myself any goals yesterday, which also felt nice, and I ended up climbing 52 stories in 14 minutes before calling it a day (I forgot to note how many calories I burned, but I didn’t enter my weight, so it wouldn’t have been that accurate anyway).

52 stories ain’t that shabby!

It’s the height of the Titanium La Portada in Santiago, which may be the tallest building in the country of Chile. I say ‘may be’ because there’s another tower, the Torre Gran Costanera, that’s under construction and will ultimately be taller (63 stories) when it’s completed. According to what I can find on the internet, the tower is supposed to be completed in 2012, but I’m not sure if it’s open yet. On second thought, I’m sure the steel frame is completed by this point, which would make it taller than the Titanium La Portada, so… I just climbed the second-tallest building in Chile!

A few other facts about the Titanium La Portada:

  • It’s an office building with a design inspired by wind-filled sails.
  • It’s built to withstand earthquakes up to 9.0 on the Richter Scale. The building survived the 2010 earthquake, with the exception of a few exterior fixtures that fell, but no one was hurt and they were easily fixed.
  • There are 20 elevators and not one, buttwo helipads on the roof.

Yep – I climbed that!

Keep it up, David!

4 Responses to Back on the StairMaster

  1. Holly says:

    Fantastic video! You’re such an inspiration. I might even dare to get on the stair master myself after watching that!

    • David says:

      I hope you do! Start slow and just see what you can do. It’s tough, but you feel GREAT afterward. Thanks for the comment, too. KEEP IT UP!

  2. Great job. I need to start using that stair master more often, I just hate it so bad.

    • David says:

      I used to hate it too – that’s why I started my Skyscraper Collection to begin with, I needed an incentive to get my butt on one! I don’t hate it anymore (although it’s still not my favorite). Hope you get back on one… and KEEP IT UP!

Leave a Reply

