Freezer Surprise AND My New Challenge

I promised at the end of yesterday’s stair climb recap (Did you see the awesome photos? And the awesome video?) that I would announce my next fitness challenge today. And I will. But first…

1) Cinco de Mayo! I had a fun surprise at the end of last week… I was on TV! A year ago, I was working at Warner Bros. when I was captured, on hidden camera, being startled by a mariachi band. It was a prank for “The Ellen DeGeneres Show,” and they ended up using the footage on the show. This year, for Cinco de Mayo, they used the footage again!

You can watch me getting startled by clicking here. I’m at the 1:10 mark (the link is what they aired last year – it features a few more seconds of me than the version they ran this year).

2) Freezer Surprise. Fitting all the goods I brought home from Costco last week into my freezer involved some major reorganization and Tetris-like problem solving, but it all fits (with room to spare), and during the reorganization, I found something that I forgot was in there: Soup!

Specifically, leftover 2-Headed Soup from a recent movie night I had that was themed around the direct-to-DVD gem “2-Headed Shark Attack.” The two heads in the 2-Headed Soup were a head of broccoli and a head of orange cauliflower, which I roasted alongside a couple heads of garlic. It all went into a big pot with onions and skim milk and eventually it was pureed, making a delightfully creamy and flavorful finished product. You can click here to learn more and see pictures of the process and the final result.

I moved the frozen soup to the fridge to thaw, and the next day, I decided to do something with it. Something different than just eating it as soup. So I used it as a sauce.

First, I sauteed broccoli and cauliflower florets – which also came from the freezer. I let them sit in the skillet for a few minutes on medium high heat, so they’d brown a little, and then I covered the skillet so they’d cook a little faster, since they went in frozen. Soon they were tender and brown – a great combo!

Meanwhile, a frozen chicken breast was cooking as well, also in a skillet. I cooked both the chicken and the veggies in a little non-stick spray. I took the chicken out and cut it, but it wasn’t done yet, so I cut it into strips so it would cook quicker. Soon, that was brown and cooked through, and I piled it on the veggies:

Then I spooned about a cup and a half of the soup into the skillet that the chicken just vacated to heat it up, and then added it to the pile:

Final touches: some soy bacon bits, fresh-cracked pepper, and a sprinkle of cumin.

I’m so glad I took photos of each layer… because the finished product looked an awful lot like the green slime from “You Can’t Do That On Television!” It tasted a lot better than it looked, trust me!

3) NEW FITNESS CHALLENGE! Even though Saturday’s 163-story stair climb is still fresh in my memory, I won’t be taking a break from training. Nope – I gotta shift gears and get back into running, because in three weeks, I’m running a 10K!

I’m heading to Colorado for Memorial Day weekend, and my sister Sarah and I are gonna run the BolderBOULDER. This is a big deal race. Last year, over 54,000 people ran in this 10K through the streets of Boulder, Colorado. FIFTY-FOUR THOUSAND!  It’s the largest timed race in the country, and the fifth largest in the world. It attracts elite athletes from all over the world – last year’s male winner was from Ethopia, and the winning woman was from Kenya. The finish line is inside the University of Colorado’s football stadium, and there will be 31 bands rocking out along the route.

This won’t be my first 10K… it will be my second. I ran my first 10K last November – it was through the backlots at Universal Studios, see pictures here – and it was tough. I trained for a lot longer than three weeks, but this time around, three weeks is all I get. The good news is that I’m already in good cardiovascular shape, thanks to all the stair training. But running doesn’t come naturally to me, and it’s been almost two months since I’ve done any running at all, so I still have my work cut out for me. Plus, there will be a massive elevation change – the BolderBOULDER is over a mile above sea level, and Los Angeles is, well, much much closer to sea level, as it’s next to the sea.

I’m up for the challenge, though, and very excited to be running with Sarah, and very very excited to participate in such a massive event!

Time to lace up those running shoes!

Keep it up, David!

5 Responses to Freezer Surprise AND My New Challenge

  1. mayraamiranda says:

    ahaha, I knew that was you on The Ellen Show, saw it and was like ‘hey, i know who that is!!!’

  2. andernub says:

    David, why in the world did you put that soup on top? Oh, David.

  3. Janet says:

    Just my combination. Looks absolutely delishious!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 647 other followers

