163-Story Stair Climb: PHOTOS and VIDEO!

It’s over. I did it.

After months of training and a two-week postponement due to injury, I finally conquered my latest fitness challenge: to climb on a StairMaster the equivalent of the world’s tallest building, without stopping.

It was difficult. It was tiring. Afterward, I was a sweat-soaked mess on the verge of collapse.

But I did it. And I’m ridiculously proud. Proud of completing the challenge, most definitely, but also proud of the money that was raised for a great cause: $1,643, from well over 40 generous donors, benefitting the Whaley Children’s Center in Flint, Michigan.

UPDATE: Add in the $772.38 that I raised for the American Lung Association during their Fight For Air Climb 2012 (see the awesome pics here), and that’s $2,415.38 going to two wonderful causes. Thanks, everyone!

The stair climb was extensively documented by my two friends and official witnesses, Maggie Peters and Heidi Powers. Maggie took a ton of photographs, and Heidi shot footage that I edited into a short little video. I know y’all like visuals (my haircut photo-essay last month got a great reaction), and since the video and the photos turned out so wonderfully, I’m gonna let them tell the story of my fitness challenge. ENJOY!

VIDEO:

If you can’t see the video embedded above, click here to watch on YouTube. It’s a little over three minutes long, shot by Heidi, and edited by me.

PHOTOS:

All photos by Maggie Peters.

Outside Crunch Burbank on Saturday, May 5, 2012, 9:45am. Minutes before beginning the challenge.

Next to the StairMaster I’m about to use.

I’ve begun!

Maggie photographing Heidi getting footage of my feet. Around 70 stories in.

Getting sweaty! I climbed backwards for about 4 minutes, and hit the 100-story milestone during that time.

Getting really sweaty… only 10 more stories to go!

It’s my final few steps…

…and DONE! FINISHED! CONQUERED IT!

OFFICIAL STATS: I climbed 165 stories (the 163 I committed to, plus two as a cool-down). Time: 44 minutes, 13 seconds. Calories burned: 599.

Post-climb exhaustion…

…and post-climb elation!

Me and Maggie. It was Maggie and her husband Matthew that initially inspired this fundraiser. Their donation was the first one I received on my way to raising $1,643 for Whaley Children’s Center.

Me and Heidi. Heidi and her husband Tom’s donation brought me to my $1,630 goal. Heidi’s observation after taking this photo: “David, you’re dripping like a sponge!”

There you have it. While I’ll happily take a well-earned break from the StairMaster, I’m not done with the fitness challenges. I’ll announce my next challenge tomorrow… and it’s taking place in just a few short weeks! Yikes!

KEEP IT UP, DAVID!

13 Responses to 163-Story Stair Climb: PHOTOS and VIDEO!

  1. Janet says:

    Damn, I really feel like trying that as well. Only my gym doesn’t have all those great things. Woo-hoo, you are doing great!!

  2. Janet says:

    Great job. Nice video. Keep inspiring us all!

  3. verabear says:

    Keep it up David! Woohoo!

  4. Ximena says:

    WOW I’m speechless!!! Great job!

  5. Sarah says:

    nice work! I like the music.

  6. Nancy says:

    44 minutes? amazing!!!!!!

  7. Tavi says:

    Way to go!! Plus, I love you in orange!

  8. TC says:

    Great job, that is amazing 🙂

  9. Nichelle says:

    KEEP IT UP DAVID!!! Woo hoo!

  10. Kenlie says:

    Wow! It’s awesome to see that happening before our eyes! Just wow…Your hard work has paid off in such and incredible way, and you just keep inspiring! Keep it up, David!

  11. Awesome job!!!! You are an inspiration!

  12. Jennifer Moore says:

    You are incredible, David!!! I am so amazed and happy for your commitment to a healthier lifestyle. And, you are smokin’ HOT!!!

Leave a Reply

