My First Weigh-In in a MONTH.

I need to start off with some BREAKING NEWS! This particular news item is nearly a week old, but it was brought to my attention yesterday, when one of my Facebook fans posted it on my wall (check out my Facebook page here).

Remember the 63-story Aon Center stair climb I did two weekends ago? Jog your memory by reading my recap. It was a grueling physical challenge, but I made it from the sidewalk to the roof in 15 minutes, 24 seconds, and raised nearly $700 in the process. The guy who climbed it the fastest did it in 7 minutes, 45 seconds. When I first saw that, my jaw dropped. That’s fast! And… it’s also NOT TRUE! The guy cheated! Event organizers found security camera footage of him taking the elevator! The story of the cheating stair climber got national attention: Read MSNBC’s article about it, and it was discussed on Fox News (although the video is no longer available). It even made news in England!

The aftermath:

  • The cheater worked at the Aon Center as a maintenance worker, and ended up getting fired. Hope he learned his lesson!
  • I thought I had finished 110th out of 632 participants, but I just checked again, and now I’m 108th on the list (was a second person DQ’ed?), 23rd in my age group (Men 30-39), and 79th among all men.

We now return to our regularly scheduled programming.

I’m kinda reeling today, for two reasons. The first is that woke up to find that someone had made an anonymous $100 donation to my upcoming Burj Khalifa stair climb! WHOA – so cool! Thanks, mystery donor! Learn about my fundraiser, and make a donation of your own, by clicking here.

Second, I stepped on the scale for the first time in a month. In my last weigh-in post, from March 7th, I committed myself to weighing in every two weeks – it’s the system that seems to work best for me: I’m checking in frequently enough to keep myself accountable, but infrequently enough to not get obsessed over the numbers.

So how did a month go by without a weigh-in?That is a great question, thank you so much for asking. The answer is that the first two weeks of the month seemed to be going well, and I thought that if I pushed my weigh-in a week, I could capitalize on my success and post, after three weeks, a nice loss. The third week didn’t go as well, so I thought if I pushed it another week, I could get myself back on track. After four weeks, I wasn’t back on track, so I decided to push it one more week. And here I am, five weeks later.

I should clarify that when I refer to myself not getting back on track, I’m referring to my eating. My exercise has been fantastic lately (just check out my March Progress Report!) – more on this later. And I’m not saying my eating has gone completely off the rails, either. I just know when I’m in my groove, and lately, I haven’t been. My portion sizes have gotten bigger. I’ve gotten seconds on things I shouldn’t be getting seconds on. I’ve been eating carbs late at night, and snacking more in general. They say that all it takes is 100 extra calories a day and you’ll gain 10 pounds a year. I’m not exactly sure, but I think it’s reasonable to estimate that I’ve consumed 200-300 more calories a day in the past few weeks, which means that while disappointed, I’m not completely surprised by the number I saw on the scale this morning:

UP TWO POUNDS. That’s five pounds that I’ve gained since January:

Here’s my entire weight loss chart:

You may recall that I’ve been debating whether or not it’s time to retire my weight loss chart, and I still haven’t decided. I have another month or two until my chart reaches the end of its 11th page, so I’ll probably make a decision then.

Back to the 2-pound gain: I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: It’s not the two pounds, or even the five pounds, that makes me upset. It’s the idea that I might be losing my grip on my success: I don’t want those five pounds to turn to twenty pounds, because it’ll be so easy for those twenty pounds to turn to fifty or a hundred pounds, and I don’t want to go back to the way I was.

I feel like a broken record when I say that I need to turn this around. This time I need to walk the walk, not just talk the talk.

Let’s go back and talk about exercise, shall we? When I’ve posted my gains before, a bunch of you are quick to chime in about how it’s probably muscle mass, since I spend a lot of time in the gym and muscle weighs more than fat. I don’t disagree. I know that I’ve built muscle over the past 6 or 8 months, because I can see it, and I can feel it – and it’s awesome. I have a jacket that’s starting to get tight in my shoulders and upper back – two places where historically I don’t store much fat – and I know it’s because of muscle gain.

But I can’t automatically attribute every ounce of every pound of weight gain to increased muscle mass when I know I haven’t been eating as well as I could be. I can’t ignore and dismiss my late night eating, or the abundance of candy, brownies and taquitos I ate at a party last weekend (true story), and that’s what I’d be doing if I accept these two new pounds as pure muscle. When I have a weigh-in after a stellar period of eating and exercise, and I still gain weight or hold steady – that’s when I’ll celebrate an increase of muscle. But that’s not what happened during the past month. I know I’m exercising like a mad man, but I also know I can make big improvements to my eating, so that’s why I’m choosing to interpret this two-pound gain as a call to arms.

It’s time to step up, David. It’s time to curb the unnecessary snacking, cut the junk food, and stop eating after dinner. It’s time to make better choices, every single time a choice presents itself. You can do it. You’ve lost 162 pounds so far, and you didn’t do it by being sloppy or half-assed. GET YOURSELF BACK ON TRACK, and then…

KEEP IT UP, DAVID.

11 Responses to My First Weigh-In in a MONTH.

  1. You can do it–keep your focus, and your exercise has been amazing! Not sure if you keep a food log/diary, but if not, start one to see where those little hidden calories are ending up. Think of all you’ve accomplished and all of your supporters rooting for you!

  2. Sheilah Lowe says:

    You’ve got this figured out. Keep it up, David!

  3. Leslie says:

    Yes :) you can do it David! Have you ever checked out the recipes/ideas on Hungry Girl… you can eat very similar stuff with less calories, etc.

  4. TC says:

    Wow, I so love reading your blog, it’s so honest and it brings myself back to being honest about myself. Just this past week, I too have gotten back on track, I took a good look at myself when the pair of jeans I was so happy to get back into, was feeling very uncomfortable. It’s easy to sit at night watching TV in my comfy fuzzy pants and snack. Maybe I need to wear my jeans all night long until I go to bed to remind me not to snack or make a better choice at dinner.

  5. Miykal-Li says:

    Hey! What I do instead of not letting myself eat after dinner is restrict to no carbs. Leaving me to munch on fruits and veggies! Good luck and keep up the good work. Remember that weight loss isn’t a straight shot, sometimes we take detours :)

  6. maryam says:

    we have to continue being on track… that’s the key to success…
    even when we achieve our weight loss goal.. we must continue to stay on track…

  7. DON’T keep this up, David! Pull your head out and get back on track! You’ve done it… you can do it again. (((HUG)))

  8. Coco says:

    I can’t believe that guy cheated! As for your weight, take a breath and don’t let it bother you. Your level of fitness (physical and mental) has improved so much, and ultimately that’s what matters. I know that I tend to eat, or more accurately inhale tortilla chips, when I’m anxious or stressed. I have found that trying to be more mindful of my emotions helps curb that mindless eating. Try meditating for 5-15 minutes a couple times per week to help yourself be more present and aware of your emotions. Once you are aware of your emotions, you can choose how and if you want to address them. Keep it up, Daveeed!

  9. Arlene Hittle says:

    You can do it, David. Sounds like you have a plan in place, and I know you have the motivation and willpower to stick to it.

  10. Tavi says:

    have you ever seen a nutritionist? maybe it’s time for a consultation. I think with all the weight lifting, it might be time to add some more protein to your diet. sure, keep the veg and fruit you love so well, maybe cut the carbs and see how your body likes that!

  11. Nurse Karen says:

    I agree with Tavi. With weightlifting/increased exercise, comes more need for protein, and if not received, the body will ignite cravings. Tavi has Wise words. You exercise so well, something else in in play for the weight increase. Keeping a food diary & concurrent journal of your emotions may help identify what triggers you to eat [late at night or otherwise]. With increased exercise, you will have increased appetite–that is hardwired into our biology–however, what we ingest to promote our wellbeing is another story. Hum, lift our flagging energy & spirits with candy & taquitos, or vibrant fruit & crisp veggies…you are a success, and further identifying & addressing your triggers will just add to that momentum. Although, taquitos are salty so some of that may be water-weight gain, too. Glad you aren’t beating yourself up over having some fun at a party. Keep It Up, David!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 647 other followers

