My New New Gym

Happy Monday! I hope you had a great weekend. Mine was busy… I went to two parties and saw four movies (three of those movies were watched at one of those parties, so there was definitely multitasking going on).

It was also a noteworthy weekend because my new gym opened! You regular readers know that, a few months ago, after lengthy consideration and thorough analysis, I bit the bullet and switched gyms. My new gym, Crunch, was opening a new location near me (in Burbank), and offered great pre-enrollment rates (but I ended up lucking out and winning a free year-long membership in a drawing!), and part of the deal was that I would have access to their other location (in West Hollywood) until the new location opened.

I’ve been working out in West Hollywood for about two months, and I really like it (I posted a couple photos from there on Friday). I’ve mentioned it in posts, referring to it as my “new gym.” On Friday, the Burbank location finally opened for business – so it’s my “new new gym.” And it is a beautiful gym. I took a bunch of photos (which, generally speaking, is frowned upon in gyms, so don’t do this at home).

It’s on the second floor of a building, above a Barnes and Noble, and there’s a 6-screen AMC movie theater in the basement. The front doors are accessed from the roof of the adjacent parking garage.

And guess what’s right across the street?

Between the gym, Barnes and Noble, the movies, and Ikea, I could easily spend an entire weekend within a 500 foot radius. All that’s missing is an arcade with a Ms. Pac-Man machine.

I arrived at 10:30 on Friday morning, to find the front doors barricaded by yellow caution tape. Turns out the gym wasn’t quite open yet – they couldn’t officially open until they got the all-clear from the fire marshall, and they were waiting for him to make an appearance. I had to come back later in the day, but it was no big deal – I’ve waited two months for this gym to open, I could wait another few hours.

Inside, everything was brand new and shiny. The gym is enormous, with high ceilings and lots of natural light, and there’s tons of equipment: rows and rows of cardio machines, and every type of weightlifting device imaginable. This photo’s a little blurry, but it’s the best I got:

The gym was also empty, although I suspect it won’t be for long. I was one of maybe 10 people working out when I got there – the staff outnumbered the clientele. I loved that my lock was only one in the entire locker room.

On Friday, I warmed up on the treadmill for 6 minutes, then spent 35 minutes lifting weights. I felt like a kid in a toy store – every time I looked around, there was something I wanted to try out or play with. I alternated between trying new-to-me equipment and doing things in my regular routine, and had to keep reminding myself that there’d be plenty of time to try everything I wanted to try.

After finishing up with the weights, I wanted to end my workout with a little cardio, and I picked a machine I had never seen before: a seated elliptical.

You position yourself on it like you would on a recumbent bike, but instead of pedals, there are big elliptical-like pads. The machine has all sorts of programs and ways to adjust your workout, and I ended up going for 17 minutes, and I selected a program that ramped up the resistance to high for 15 seconds of every minute, so I was combining cardio with leg presses – multitasking rocks!

I went back to my new new gym on Saturday, and took a Zumba class with my friend Natalie. It was only the second Zumba class I’ve ever taken (I tried it for the first time about a year and a half ago). Zumba is fun – it has great music, and it’s high energy cardio dance. It’s also really hard for me, because the choreography is based around a lot of belly-dancing-esque hip movements and shimmying that I just can’t do. But I do what I can and have a ball anyway. This class had a great teacher (a woman named Miracle) and I was the only man in the class.

One more picture: The Burbank location, like the West Hollywood location, has a mountain view (although they’re different mountains):

When I first joined Crunch, I planned on using West Hollywood until Burbank opened, and then I planned on using Burbank exclusively… but now I’m thinking that I’ll revise that plan, and alternate between the two gyms. I like that plan – I know I have successful workouts when I switch things up. And I like knowing that I have two gyms, in two different parts of town, that are there for me to use.

Keep it up, David!

6 Responses to My New New Gym

  1. David, Nice post. I love the view at your gym. I’ve never been a member of a gym, for a host of reasons…all of which are mental hangups of one sort or another. I’m wondering if you had any misgivings or reluctance that you had to work through when you *first* started using a gym? And if you did, do you have any tips on getting over a mental block and taking that leap?
    Cheers!

  2. Kenlie says:

    The gym looks incredible! I’m so glad that you made the choice to try something new!

    I want to try a seated elliptical. Whoa.

    And you know, I could drive there without worry because someone once drew a thorough map to Ikea for me, and it was easy!

  3. Rebecca Hill says:

    David, I hope you’ll continue to Zumba! I’ve been taking classes for the past year or so and I PROMISE YOU it gets easier over time! After about 5-6 classes your body will “just start to get it” – in the meantime, I’m glad to hear you’re having fun with it. KEEP IT UP, DAVID! – Rebecca

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 647 other followers

