Birthday Lunch AND Farmers Market

Over the weekend, I shared a few photos of food I’ve been eating lately – check it out if you missed it. Consider this post an addendum to that one, because I have more food photos to share!

Even though my birthday was on March 5th (read about the fitness challenges I gave myself as a birthday present), I didn’t get together for a family birthday celebration until two days ago, when I headed out to my aunt and uncle’s place for lunch with them and my cousins. Annie made a delicious meal that was light and healthy, and built around a protein that I had suggested: salmon.

Annie baked the salmon with salt, pepper, and lemon, and also sauteed brussel sprouts (lower left), and mushrooms (lower right), which went over quinoa (also lower right, under the mushrooms). A big ol’ salad (top), that I ate without dressing, completed the meal. Everything was fantastic, and I went back for seconds, without a second of hesitation or guilt.

For dessert, Annie made carrot cupcakes from scratch. Annie is an excellent baker, and it’s one of her favorite pastimes – so when she asked what kind of birthday cake I wanted, I opted for cupcakes, mainly for built-in portion control reasons.

I hope, by the way, that Annie is enjoying this post, because she only asked on about four separate occasions if I was going to blog about her meal. “Am I going to be in the blog, David? Because I really want to be in the blog.” “Are you taking pictures for the blog, David? It’d be so cool to be in the blog.” “If my face is going to be in that shot, than I should put on a little lipstick. I want to look my best for the blog.” You get the idea.

I ate one of the cupcakes, and it was delicious – moist and fluffy like cake should be, with big chucks of carrots, walnuts, pineapple, and golden raisins. Here’s what they look like on the inside:

“Are you getting my finger in that shot, David? I just did my nails – they’ll look really good in the blog.”

My birthday lunch was fantastic (thanks again, Annie!), but it’s not the only delicious food from that day – that morning, I went with a friend to the farmers market! It’s actually been over a year since I’ve been to a farmers market, and it was good to be back. So much gorgeous produce! I didn’t need much, but I still picked up a few things:

There are brussel sprouts at the top, asparagus to the right, a bag of sprouted mung beans, fenugreek, and wheatberries in the center, and a type of orange on the left that I’d never heard of before, called cara cara oranges. Like satsuma tangerines, cara cara oranges are sold with some of the leaves still attached, which makes them a beautiful addition to my fruit bowl. I’ll let you know what I think after I bust one open.

If there’s one thing that always catches my eye, it’s oddly colored vegetables, like the purple cauliflower I picked up recently. And the was definitely something that caught my eye at the farmer’s market… purple kale! And there were two varieties! There was this kale, that has purple veins:

And there was this kale, where almost the entire leaf was purple (I learned this variety is called nagoya kale):

I couldn’t choose which kale to buy, so I bought both. I think I’ll make kale chips with some (or all) of my purple kale bounty!

KEEP IT UP, DAVID!

10 Responses to Birthday Lunch AND Farmers Market

  1. wartica says:

    You can never go wrong with a salmon dish:)) Hope you had a great birthday and I look forward to sharing more with you:))

  2. Sabine says:

    my fav Salmon dish is ,, Salmon and a few big shrimps .. cherry tomatoes ,, a bit a garlic ,, sprikle with salt pepper and oliveoil.. wrap in foil and bake in the oven or a oven dish covered up .. only takes a few mins but is sooo good..eat with a big salad….
    keep up the good work .. greetings from Germany
    Sabine

  3. Sara says:

    That meal and the cupcakes look delicious! I love a good carrot cake with the cream cheese frosting. Mmmm

    Fun fact about the Cara Cara Oranges, I guess they’re considered a power orange because they have special vitamins good for the immune system. Plus, they’re flesh is pink unlike a typical orange! 🙂 I love citrus in general but these are very tasty.

  4. Pat says:

    That Tablecloth/Doily looks like it belongs to an “Aunt Annie”!

  5. annie says:

    That is so funny David! I did harp on that alot didnt I? I think the pictures of my food loked better in the pictures. Loved being able to celebrate with you. Thanks for putting up with my nagging to be on the blog!

  6. Alix Stayton says:

    What will you do with the wheatberries?

    • David says:

      I just eat ’em! Mostly toss them, along with the other sprouted goods, into salads. I’ve been known to grab a handful right out the baggie, too!

  7. Arlene Hittle says:

    Kale, huh? It’s certainly the “it vegetable” this month. I just put a feature about kale on tomorrow’s food page, and between that story and your blog post, I’m tempted to go buy some right now. I haven’t tried kale chips yet, and there’s a coconut-kale smoothie I’m dying to try.

Leave a Reply

