Exciting Gym News AND Photo Shoot!

If you were reading this blog back in January, than you’ll remember that I struggled with a big, important question: whether or not to switch gyms. I had been a member at my local, no-frills neighborhood gym, and was tempted by Crunch, a big national chain that was opening a new location nearby. I weighed the options, went back and got more information, and ultimately decided to join Crunch.

Since the new location is still under construction (hopefully opening in early April), I’ve had access to their other Los Angeles location and I’ve been going there regularly and really liking it. It’s big, never too crowded, full of eye candy, and I’ve quite literally run into 4 old friends there in the past two weeks. Three of them are college friends, and, on Saturday, I ran into my buddy Bryce, who I’ve known since kindergarten. Small freakin’ world, especially since Bryce and I were in kindergarten thousands of miles away!

One of my initial hang-ups about joining Crunch was that it’s expensive – about three times as pricey as my old gym, even taking into consideration my great pre-enrollment rate. I decided the money was worth it, because Crunch offers three times as much as my old gym, and I was ready to shake up my workout routine.

This is where the story gets really interesting.

The first time I went to inquire about Crunch’s rates and facilities, I filled out a little card and, on a lark, entered a raffle. I soon forgot all about it, and a few days later, I read all the fine print and signed the contract, committing myself to a $50-per-month rate.

Since then, I’ve learned that they pulled my name out of the hat, and I won a free year-long membership to Crunch! A whole freakin’ year! That’s $600 that will never leave my wallet! I was informed of the news via voice mail, and when I returned the call, I made Bethany, the membership coordinator, repeat the news very slowly, because I couldn’t believe it. I still can’t believe it!

Bethany asked me to come by the membership center a few days later for a little photo shoot, so they could publicize that they’re actually giving away the memberships that they said they’re giving away, and I was more than happy to oblige. I was expecting someone with a little point-and-shoot number, but NOPE. Crunch doesn’t mess around. They brought in a fancy-pants professional portrait photographer named Innis Casey.

Innis was a really great guy. He’s smart and funny and knows what he doing, and he put me at ease, which is good, because I don’t consider myself very photogenic (for every photo of myself that I post on this blog, there’s at least 10 that never see the light of day). We knocked out the photo shoot in about 15 minutes, then went through all the shots, and narrowed it down to the four best ones, which Innis kindly sent me, via email, the very next day.

Wanna see them?

This isn’t technically the first time I’ve used these photos – they’re featured on the two fundraising pages I set up last week (Click here to support my Lung Association stair climb, click here to support my Whaley Children’s Center stair climb, and click here to read why I’m doing all these stair climbs to begin with!), but this their debut on the blog.

Fun fact about the photos: While it looks like I’m just standing around, I’m actually balanced on the seat of a piece of exercise equipment, while Innis was perched on the top step of a five-foot ladder. We’re both up in the air, although you’d never guess it!

I love the photos, and I’m super critical of pictures of myself. What do you think? Which one is your favorite? Innis ended up using the upper-left picture for Crunch’s purposes – he applied a sepia-like filter on it, stuck it on a frame, and now it’s on display in the Crunch Membership Center:

Innis also gave me a beautiful print of it, which he mocked up to look like an actor’s headshot:

I just need 499 more of those and I can start auditioning for roles like “third man on left”!

The photo shoot was short and sweet, but I think the photos are great, and I had a lot of fun with Innis – he really couldn’t have been a nicer, sweeter guy. If you’re in the Los Angeles area and looking for a portrait or headshot photographer, check him out – he has tons of his work on display on his website, which you can see here (his contact info is there, too).

Free gym, free photo shoot… I’m on a roll!

Keep it up, David!

 

12 Responses to Exciting Gym News AND Photo Shoot!

  1. Lisa in NZ says:

    Awesome news re the gym membership! High Five! Obviously the best choice was made!

    Love the photos!

    Have a great week!

  2. Congrats David, that’s freaking awesome! 🙂

  3. Sara says:

    That’s super cool! Congrats on the win 🙂 I joined Lifetime Fitness here in town and yeah, it’s not cheap either, but I love the place–love it–and go everyday. In the past I tried other places like Bally Total Fitness or 24 Hour and I just never cared for it. Wanting to go there and be there is a good thing just to get me to the gym so I’ll pay the money, even if it hurts my wallet and about three times more than other places, because the hard work is paying off!

  4. Sheilah Lowe says:

    That’s awesome, David. I like all the photos. Keep it up, David!

  5. Sarah Van Houten says:

    You look so handsome in those photos

  6. Alix Stayton says:

    Upper right was also my favorite. Great photos, and what a great surprise! I just joined a gym myself {:-)

  7. chauncyrenay says:

    Oh hell yeah!!! That is such good news.

  8. Mom says:

    yeah, great photos of my handsome son!! I’m sure you will find creative uses for them!!

  9. Nurse Karen says:

    My Gramma used to say, “Great Spirit Will Provide”. ^_^ I love all the photos, and the upper right {your grin is impish,so cute!} and the one sans glasses {I’ve seen this look when we conversed walking along the beach} are my fav. Happy for you!

  10. Kelly B says:

    Wow!! A year membership! How awesome!
    Pictures? I would have chosen top left or bottom right corners. Lookin’ good, David!

  11. Nichelle says:

    Congrats! Top right and bottom right are my raves.

  12. Caron says:

    Lucky you! Enjoy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

