March Produce Haul

Do you mind if I start with a couple housekeeping items?

Fundraising. My fundraising is off to a fantastic start! I’m raising money for two causes: The American Lung Association, sponsor of the skyscraper climb that I’m participating in at the end of the month, and I’ve also turned my own fitness goal into a fundraiser for Whaley’s Children Center, an amazing organization in Michigan. A number of you have already generously donated cash – about $300! I’d like to raise $700 between the two drives, so there’s still some ground to cover! Learn about both fundraising drives here, and if you’re able, click here to donate to the ALA, or here to donate to Whaley. Thank you so much!

Slimmons Video. I mentioned yesterday that Michele, who works with Richard Simmons, may have gotten video of the two of us dancing in class the other night… and she did! Michele is the best – she edited together this little montage from Tuesday night’s class: first, footage of when Richard pulled me into the big circle to dance with him, and, after that, footage of him leading the entire class as they all sang “Happy Birthday” to me. Thank you so much, Michele, for your help – this is fantastic! Watch below (or click here to watch on YouTube):

Speaking of videos, way back in January, I blogged about how I got to feed a 5-foot nurse shark while in Curacao. I wanted to share the video of it, but I couldn’t get it to properly upload. Well, I just figured it out. Better late than never! Read the blog post about the shark encounter, and then click here to see the feeding (it’s short – 36 seconds!).

Let’s move on, shall we?

I had a fun time at the store yesterday picking up a whole lotta new produce! Here’s my haul:

What have we got here? From left to right and top to bottom (roughly): rainbow carrots, two containers of strawberries (on sale!), a bag of washed and trimmed green beans, green onions, blueberries, pre-cut broccoli, comice pears, red bell peppers, mushrooms, tomatoes, bananas, celery, 2 blood oranges, and baby carrots.

I was excited to see these guys at Whole Foods…

…watermelon radishes! To be honest, I had kinda sorta completely forgotten about their existence until I saw them in the salad at the surprise party I went to last week. They are a tasty and vibrant variety of radish (see pictures here), and I happily snapped up two of them when I saw them at the store.

Lastly, I came across an intriguing produce item that I never heard of before, and you know what I like to do when that happens, right? I like to BUY IT, and then I like to EAT IT. This week’s victim is called a Sumo Tangerine:

It’s the largest tangerine I’ve ever seen (the size of a small grapefruit), so I suppose Sumo is a very fitting name. I don’t know anything about Sumo Tangerines (I’ll do my research, don’t you fret), but if you’re familiar and have any helpful info or tips, than please share in the comments section!

As I type this, I realize that I never shared what happened with the stunningly drop-dead beautiful Romanesco Broccoli that I shared in my last produce haul post. Seriously, drop everything and click here to see pictures of one of the most gorgeous pieces of produce I’ve ever seen. Long story short: I ate it. It was delicious. And I was a bad blogger that day because I didn’t photograph any of it. My bad.

So, I owe you one Romanesco Broccoli blog post. I even made myself a reminder note so I wouldn’t forget:

Now I just gotta find another Romanesco Broccoli! The West Hollywood Whole Foods that I was at yesterday didn’t have them. I bought the first one at the Glendale Whole Foods, so maybe I’ll head back there.

In the meantime, I got all sorts of fantastic produce to munch on.

KEEP IT UP, DAVID!

6 Responses to March Produce Haul

  1. Caron says:

    I love Richard Simmons. I have the first two Sweating to the Oldies DVD’s and the second one is especially great. 🙂

  2. Lisa says:

    Random comment – here is a link to NZ tallest building to add to your collection one day? Is it a sky scraper I am not sure – but we are proud of it, I think it is 51 flights – it has 1267 steps anyway

    http://www.skycityauckland.co.nz/Attractions/Skytower/Explore-The-Sky-Tower/Did-you-know.html

  3. Christa says:

    If you know anything about any random produce in the San Antonio, TX area, please either blog about it or let me know if you remember and it’s not too much trouble.

  4. Moya says:

    A song from Richard on your Birthday, to cool!

Leave a Reply

