Yes! My New Driver License Photo!

Happy Valentine’s Day everyone! I didn’t get my act together this year, so I don’t have a fun or clever Valentine’s Day post. Last year’s post, which was a love note from a variety of fruits and vegetables, will have to suffice. If you haven’t seen it, or haven’t seen it in a year, check it out here. I guarantee you’ll smile, or I’ll refund your money.

LOOK WHAT RECENTLY CAME IN THE MAIL!

It’s my new driver license!

 

I just realized that I’ve been mispronouncing the name of this ID card my entire life. I’ve always said “driver’s license,” but it’s actually “driver license.” I had no idea.

I went to the DMV a few weeks ago to renew my license, which was due to expire next month. In California, you can go online and make on appointment at the DMV, so I made one for 8:40am – nice and early. I got there on time, filled out some paperwork, and 15 minutes later, I was at a counter with a nice DMV employee named Jackie.

My last driver license was from the summer of 2003. I was 24 years old, and I hadn’t stepped on a scale in at least a year. The paperwork required me to list my weight, and out of ignorance, I lied. I said 290, which was very generous, because I’m sure I was probably much closer to 350. So when Jackie started comparing and inputting information for my new license, one of the first things she commented on was my weight. She complimented me on my weight loss – and that wasn’t based on the numbers, that was based on comparing my old picture (which is below) with the me standing in front of her.

I shared with Jackie that I’ve lost 165 pounds, and she asked a few more questions about how I was doing it, and she shared that she’s been losing weight, and was halfway to her goal. We talked about that a little bit, and I ended up telling her about this blog and giving her my card. I also confessed that I lied to the DMV nine years ago, which Jackie said wasn’t a big deal.

My new driver license lists my weight at a very truthful 235 pounds. Let’s take a closer look at my new license!

I don’tlove my photo, but it’s fine. I love that it’s current and new and not nine years old. I love that it shows that I have a neck!

Here it is, with my old driver license below:

What a difference nine years and 165 pounds makes!

KEEP IT UP, DAVID!

9 Responses to Yes! My New Driver License Photo!

  1. chauncyrenay says:

    Woop woop! That’s pretty awesome!

  2. You get your drivers licenses in the mail? California is silly!

    Nice pic though! In my first drivers license pic, my hair was dyed blonde. I look much more normal in my current one 😛

  3. Debbie says:

    You are originally from Michigan…we add an extra s to everything…Krogers, Meijers…..

    • David says:

      My grandmother used to add a ‘s’ and say ‘shrimps’ and ‘childrens’, but that was a English-as-a-2nd-language thing, not a Michigan thing!

  4. Ellen says:

    You look fantastic. The CA Driver’s license looks like it got mugged by a rainbow.

  5. Kenlie says:

    What an awesome difference David! So so cool…………! It’s a shame you blacked out your address..I’m sure that a few of your “stalkers” who would have wanted to know where you live. I’ll never tell!

    Keep it up, David!

    PS I’ve always called it a driver’s license too. Who knew?!

  6. Janet says:

    Wow David I am always in awe at how great you are doing. Great picture, you have really come a long way. 😉

  7. Mahjah difference! Love, love, love! 🙂

Leave a Reply

