Facebook + Skyscraper

Do you follow me on Facebook? Click here to go to my Facebook page – it’s a great way to learn about new blog posts. You can also leave comments there, and I always read them. I love hearing from my readers!

Today I wanted to share two comments that I’ve gotten recently on Facebook – one is a question I’ll try my best to answer, and the other… well, you’ll see. First, the question, which came from a reader named Lois:

I have such a hard time staying focused. Since august of 2011, I have lost 34 lbs. When I focus I can eat all my healthy low cal foods, then somedays I’m just soooo hungry. It’s as if nothing fills me up and my stomach is just screaming for some food. So then I eat a burrito or an In n Out burger, which are delicious, but then the next day I am 4lbs heavier and feel like crap. Do you ever have these hungry days and what do you do?

In another comment to another post, Lois talked about having a bad week, and ended with the question:

Why am I soooooo hungry?????

First of all, Lois, I hope you’re eating! You can’t lose weight without eating throughout the day, and giving your body energy and calories. But I’ve definitely had days where I’ve had three square meals, but my stomach doesn’t stop growling and grumbling. So I know the feeling.

To answer your main question, you’re so hungry because you’re eating less calories than your body is used to. That’s how you’ve lost 34 pounds (congratulations on that!), and that’s how you’ll lose however many you still want to lose. So one way of looking at it is to consider your hunger as a good thing. But that won’t make it any easier to deal with, so here are some other strategies:

  • Have plenty of guilt-free snacks around. If I’ve eaten my meal and am still hungry, I’ll pull out some vegetables and eat those. A few weeks ago I ate a 2-pound bag of carrots over the course of a couple hours, without an ounce of regret.
  • Keep your mind (and hands) occupied. I focus on my hunger, and am more inclined to act on it, when I’m sitting around watching TV or putzing on the computer. I get my mind off my hunger by being more productive. I like to draw, so I’ll pull out some paper and create something. I’ve gone for a walk to distract myself from the kitchen (and I leave my wallet at home, so I don’t end up at the 7-11 down the street). You could clean out that junk drawer that’s been bothering you or call up a friend you haven’t talked to in a while.You could take up knitting, or building ships-in-bottles!
  • Brush and floss your teeth. This works for me – I never want to eat after cleaning my teeth!

Anyone else with tips or ideas, please leave them in the comments sections!

The other Facebook comment I want to talk about came from a reader named Scott, who wrote:

david i read u post so you are doing this to get attention that sad i lost 220 in ten months and i am not craving attention

I don’t get many negative comments, and while I’d prefer to not let this one bother me, I must admit I’ve been thinking about it for the past few days. So, I just want to clear up, for Scott and for anyone else that’s curious: I’m not losing weight to get attention. I can think up a bunch of ways to draw attention to myself that’d be a helluva lot easier than losing 165 pounds! I’m trying to lose weight to improve my health, and so I can live a longer, better life, and so I can feel better about myself. Congratulations on your 220 pound loss, Scott – that’s truly extraordinary. Why did you do it?

Last item on the agenda today is… a skyscraper! This morning at the gym, I made the impromptu decision to start my workout on the StairMaster. I set the clock for 20 minutes, covered the display with my towel, and climbed. Twenty minutes later, I felt ready to keel over, and that’s because I burned 345 calories and climbed…

…98 stories! A NEW RECORD!

I’m not crazy about the skyscraper I’m adding to my collection today – I actually think it’s pretty ugly, but it’s exactly 98 stories high, so it’s a perfect fit. Say hello to the Trump International Hotel and Tower:

At 1,389 feet, Trump International Hotel and Tower in Chicago is the second tallest building in the country, after Willis Tower (formerly known as Sears Tower). It’s the 12th tallest building in the world. The tower was originally planned to be the tallest building in the world, but after the 9/11 attacks, plans were scaled back. Parts of the building opened in 2008, although the entire building wasn’t completed until 2009.

Looking for a home in Chicago? Consider the 89th floor penthouse. Donald Trump planned on keeping the 14,260 square foot apartment for himself, but put it on the market in 2009. It has 7 bedrooms, 6 baths, 16-foot ceilings, and amazing views, which you can see here. It’s unfinished, which means whoever buys it will have to build out the bathrooms, kitchen, and install all the flooring and decor, but hey! If you got $30 million to spend on a home, surely you can rustle up another couple million for some faucets, Ikea bookcases, and a Frigidaire!

This picture makes me like the building a little more, and it certainly makes me appreciate what I accomplished in this morning’s workout!

I just added Trump International Hotel and Tower to my Skyscraper Collection, which you can check out here. At 98 stories, it’s the tallest building on the list… and I’m so close to breaking the 100-story threshold!

KEEP IT UP, DAVID!

4 Responses to Facebook + Skyscraper

  1. DidoCarthage says:

    Isn’t it too bad how unkind remarks can have an unpleasant effect, even when you know they are unjust? I suppose for some people it’s the only way they feel they can have *any* effect. It really is sad – that man should feel proud and happy about his accomplishment, yet apparently he is only jealous. What a shame.

    Never you mind. You are doing a truly good thing by drawing attention – not to your personal self, but to what you have accomplished, which *you know* has provided hope and inspiration and simple pleasure to many. Keep it up! :o)

  2. My mom used to say, “If you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all.” I wish Scott’s mother had said the same thing.

    I smell ‘troll’.

    In other news, that is one hell of a skyscraper! Have you picked the ‘100 Floor’ one to add yet?

  3. melldclute says:

    There truly is nothing wrong with sharing the journey of losing weight with others. It’s not really about drawing attention to yourself. It’s more about being a positive influence in the people who do have problems staying motivated who could learn a lot from how successful you are at it. Your answer to the question before is a prime example of that. It truly is sad that that person doesn’t see it that way, and has reacted out of jealousy, but really, he kind of drew attention to himself with that lame comment, too. So the shoe fits on the other horn. Continue to share your story. I don’t think you realize just how inspirational you are to the people (like me) who sometimes need a good kick in the butt to get ourselves going.

  4. JennyO says:

    David, please don’t worry about people like Scott. Because for every one like him there are 50 like me who draw inspiration, motivation, comfort and encouragement from your blog. I read your blog every day and many times it has saved me from a bad binge. Sharing our stories, struggles, goals, achievements and lives with each other is a good and positive thing. You are doing a good thing for good reasons, it shows in the time and effort you put into your blog. I suspect this person is a troll, too, who needs immediate help with the basics of sentence construction!

Leave a Reply

