It’s a New Week…

…and there’s only one place to go after this weekend: UP.

My Saturday and Sunday weren’t the greatest. I was rather depressed. The high from Thursday’s successful speaking gig in Pasadena was only temporary (like all highs, I suppose). When the high wore off, I felt smacked in the face by reality: when it comes to my health, I’m currently out of my groove, and it will take a lot of hard work to get back in the groove and stay there. I tried to remind myself that the hard work is nothing I haven’t done before, and further remind myself of all the wonderful things going on right now, but my mind kept wandering back to the same negative thoughts. And my weekend suffered because of it. I didn’t work out, either day. I ate poorly, including Doritos and Peanut Butter M&Ms. I slept a lot.

Then, as Sunday afternoon was turning into Sunday evening, while the rest of the planet was watching the Super Bowl (and I was catching up on TiVo’ed sitcoms), I made a decision. I’ll let this slump win for the rest of the day, but when tomorrow comes, IT’S OVER. NO MORE. No more missing my workouts, no more emotional eating, no more wallowing.

Today is going to be a better day. I already have my gym clothes on, I already ate a healthy breakfast and know what I’m eating for lunch, I already have a to-do list that I’m ready to tackle (and writing this post was right at the top).

I’m already feeling better. And that’s a great feeling!

KEEP IT UP, DAVID!

4 Responses to It’s a New Week…

  1. Amy says:

    YOU CAN DO IT!!!!!!! 🙂

  2. Sheilah Lowe says:

    Love your attitude. Glad you are feeling better! Keep it up, David!

  3. Katherine says:

    Gettem’! Love you.

  4. Me So Hongry says:

    OMG, I so needed this. Thanks for letting people know it’s okay to fall into a slump. Some of the blogs I read reflect this “perfect weight loss journey”. I usually stop following those blogs. I think sometime we need to know even the best of us waver from time to time. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

