Success in Pasadena

I took a little 48-hour blogging break, but I’m back. I spent a lot of time preparing for my Whole Foods talk on Thursday night, tracing my way back through the past two years, and, to be honest, I was kinda tired of thinking and talking about myself. Now I’m ready to be my regular ol’ narcissistic self! And I know that’s why you keep visiting this blog – because I’m such a selfish, arrogant asshole. I’m glad to be back, bitches!

The Whole Foods event on Thursday night went off wonderfully. If you didn’t make it, you missed out! I had been preparing to give my speech in their regular event space – a clearing between the service deli counter and the wine section, and this turned out to be a special night. Thanks to some building renovations, Whole Foods Pasadena had a new classroom/conference room in the back, and my event was the first one that got to use it! How exciting to inaugurate a new space! It was great because I didn’t need to use a microphone, and I didn’t need to compete with the sounds of squeaky carts, register dings, and the other noises that a functioning supermarket provides.

That’s me and my poster at the front of the store. I’m looking off to the side, because I was talking to a customer who had just complimented me! I tried to persuade her to stick around for the presentation, but she couldn’t – I did, however, give her a card.

The room filled up. I think every available chair was taken. Heather had printed out a bunch of “Before” photos, so I had visual aids to refer to.  I was prepared – I had my notes, and used them as a guideline, but told my story naturally, and I felt more comfortable this time around than when I made my motivational speaking debut at Whole Foods Porter Ranch.

The speech lasted about 30 minutes, and then there was a lively question and answer period that lasted about 20 minutes or so. We raffled off a bag of Whole Foods items, and everyone went on their way. My aunt, uncle, and cousin were there, in the front row, and friends came from all over: Culver City, Calabasas, Hollywood, and Long Beach – and if you’re familiar with southern California geography, none of those places are exactly Pasadena-adjacent, so that meant a lot to me as well, especially since it involved terrible rush-hour traffic. Then, there were a couple blog readers that came out specifically to meet me in person (Hello Chauncy and Christina!), which really touched me, and a bunch of people who were new to me and my story, that I hope had a good time.

I left the evening feeling proud, and also feeling motivated. I’ve been in a bit of a rut lately, and talking about all the steps that I’ve taken since Day 1 reminded me that all the difficulties I’m facing now, about staying focused and goal-oriented, are all difficulties that I’ve faced before, and successfully. It’s important that I don’t dwell in a “but-what-have-I-done-lately” fog or forget about my accomplishments from the past. Because I’ve accomplished a lot. And I’m not done yet.

I also left the evening with some produce. I was at Whole Foods, after all! I just wanted a few things to bring me through the weekend:

Carrots, broccoli, red bell pepper, bananas, nectarines.

I also brought home something I’ve never seen or heard of before. Do you know what this is?

It’s called gobo root, and at this point, I know nothing more about it. That will change, though – I’ll figure out what it is, and how to use it, and I’ll share the end results right here in this blog!

Keep it up, David!

8 Responses to Success in Pasadena

  1. Mom says:

    Glad it was a successful event for you, David, but I knew it would be.
    Keep it up David!

  2. Kelly Bo-Belly says:

    Congrats on another successful speaking engagement!

  3. Nurse Karen says:

    You’re a natural teacher, David. You have a calm presentation and “radio” voice which makes it a pleasure to listen to your lectures. I’ll be glad when Whole Foods in Seal Beach/Long Beach hosts your presentation, so I can arrive on time! Three hours to go 32 miles still blows me away. Ah, LA traffic. I was inspired by you saying that your blood sugar was in normal range now, no longer pre-diabetic, and that your blood pressure had decreased to normal. It proves that engaging in a healthy lifestyle CAN help heal one’s self, not only emotionally, and physically. KEEP IT UP DAVID!!! xoxo~

  4. Aubrey says:

    Wow, good outfit choice! You look good!

  5. Nichelle says:

    Great picture! Chauncy is my bestie and she turned me on to your blog. You’re an inspiration to lots of people! Wish I could have been there, but driving from Sacramento in rush hour traffic might have taken a bit too long. =). Keep it up, David!

  6. Debbie says:

    Gobo are really popular in Japanese cooking. It’s kind of marinated in a soy sauce-y brine.

    http://japanesefood.about.com/od/vegetable/r/kinpiragobo.htm

    I found a recipe. I actually really love gobo. It tastes kind of like a cross between a water chestnut, but kind of fibrous like bamboo shoots.

    Glad to hear your talk went well David. Come back to Michigan and do one at the Farmington Hills location!

  7. “I’m glad to be back, bitches!” Loved it! It literally made laugh out loud. Nice photo of you. Cheers!

  8. chauncyrenay says:

    Thx for the shout out! How cool! 🙂 It was so informative and I left the talk really inspired. My friend Diona and I live in Pasadena, so we are going to do the shopping walk-thru and take some more classes there. I’m really glad I went. Keep it up, David! You are awesome!

Leave a Reply

