Weight Loss Chart, Version 2.0

Have you been visiting Keep It Up, David every day hoping for a blog post with an extraordinarily large amount of photos of my weight loss chart? If that’s the case, you should drop everything and go buy a lotto ticket, because day is your lucky day!

Today is the day I unveil my Weight Loss Chart, Version 2.0!

Before I get into how my chart has evolved, I should start by saying that I weighed myself yesterday, so in addition to reconfiguring the chart, I’ve also added to it. Here’s the latest update:

I stayed even. My weight of 236 equals a weight loss of 166 pounds. I’m not surprised at the results of this week’s weigh-in, and I’ll explain why a little later in this post.

Now, back to the chart reconfiguration! I wrote last week about how my weight loss chart was in a bit of a pickle: I was approaching the end of my ninth page, and there was simply no room for the tenth. Something had to be done. My 89″ weight loss chart already dominated an entire wall, and even wrapped around the corner. Here’s what it looked like when I added the ninth page a few months ago:

Now that ninth page is filled up. Here’s what I did to rectify the space problem.

Step One: I removed the first five pages of the chart. Those five pages show my progress from January 2010, when I started losing weight, through January 2011 – the first year of this journey. The four pages that remained, which show my progress (and a lot of plateaus) from January 2011 through the present, were moved to the left.

Here’s those 4 pages:

Which means I now have room for Page Ten!

There’s also room for Page Eleven, which means this set-up will last me for another 4-5 months.

Step Two: I remade the chart showing my first year of weight loss, and condensed it from five pages to two. I did that by shortening the X axis: Instead of every vertical line on the graph paper representing 1 day, I made every 5 lines represent 1 month. By doing this, I could fit an entire year of weight loss onto two pages, oriented vertically. Take a look:

This new Year 1 chart starts at my heaviest weight, 402 pounds…

…and ends one year later, when I weighed 243 pounds:

Yep, I lost 159 pounds in one year, and when you show it like this on a chart, it looks even more radical that it actually was!

This Year 1 chart got hung above Pages 6-10, and the end result is a weight loss chart that looks like this:

In about six months, when I finish with Page 11, and I again have nowhere to go, I’ll simply remove the pages that show Year 2, condense them like I did for Year 1, and hang them next to Year 1. This system works! (The pages I removed, by the way, are in a safe place.)

I fear I may have bored you all to death with all this chart talk, and if that’s the case, I apologize. If you’re a fan of charts and graphs, like I am, and are super intrigued by all this, than take a look at this post, which shows you how to start a weight loss chart of your very own!

Moving on…

I mentioned earlier that my lack of any weight loss this week wasn’t a surprise. In fact, I’m a touch surprised I didn’t gain. The reason for this is that a few days ago, I lost control and had a little binge. And by “little,” I mean “large.” It consisted of: 1 bag of gummi bears, 1 bag of banana chips, 1 bag of Peanut Butter M&Ms, 1/2 bag of orange slices (those jelly candies that are like gumdrops but shaped like orange slices), and one package of 12 smallish cupcakes. In the name of honesty and full disclosure, all of those candy bags were larger than single-serving packages.

That’s the nuts and bolts of the binge. As for the why… well, simply put, I was feeling shitty about myself. I was feeling lonely and depressed, for specific reasons that I’m not going to share, and those negative feelings blossomed and grew and wrapped around me, clinging like ivy, and eventually, they consumed me, and I turned to food. It was a mistake, and the food didn’t make me feel better, but what makes me the most annoyed about the whole episode is that I didn’t take my own advice. I wrote a blog last week called “Walk into the Fire,” about facing fears and having the courage to stand up for myself, and in my first big challenge since that epiphany, I failed. I didn’t stand up for myself, and when I started craving junk food and those cravings grew to be larger and stronger than I could handle, I didn’t turn to friends and family and ask for help. I caved. That, more than the thousands of empty calories I consumed, is what made me the most ashamed.

I’m not ashamed anymore. I fell asleep that night feeling pretty low, but the next morning, I shook it off, and decided to not dwell on it. I needed to move on. It was a new day. Since then, my eating has been healthy and in control, and my exercise has been strong and focused. That’s reason enough to say…

…Keep it up, David.

8 Responses to Weight Loss Chart, Version 2.0

  1. Andie says:

    I think it is incredibly brave to write about your binge. The more successful you are with reshaping your health, the harder it is to admit that you stumble, I find. You are absolutely still on track & more than keeping it up – you are thriving.

  2. Karen says:

    Your brutal honesty just makes me even more proud of you! Way to go waking up the next day and moving on!! That’s such a skill, because everybody makes bad choices sometimes (I am having a personal crisis of Christmas treats, I’ll admit), but being able to consistently overcome that is just a critical step to keeping your momentum, which you have in spades, even when you don’t feel like it. You rock!!

  3. Nurse Karen says:

    Your bravery in sharing a small, brief, break in caring for yourself only shows how truly strong you Are, and how much you’ve triumphed over the odds. Be gentle with yourself. Just think about Thomas Edison and all his attempts to make the perfect lightbulb: he said it was not failure, just 10,000 times that didn’t quite work out! ““Our greatest weakness lies in giving up. The most certain way to succeed, is to try just one more time.” –And So You Are…Keep It Up, David! xoxo~

  4. Sara says:

    I can totally relate with the binge. I’ve been there. And I too feel guilty about it when it’s over and the next morning I want to kick myself. But you made a good point–it’s a new day, start over! Congrats on the the healthy choices then and keep going 🙂 I always love seeing your weight loss chart, you’ve been doing so well and on a roll! Very cool you actually ran out of room though and had to go to Version 2.0!

  5. Lisa says:

    Great work on the charts and thanks for the honesty in your sharing of the binge – One day t a time is all we can do so just remember – Keep it up, David!

  6. Pam Brown says:

    There’s a saying: “We’re only as sick as our secrets.” You didn’t keep the binge hidden. It’s out in the open. You will process this and move on. You’ll be even better than you were before the binge.

Leave a Reply

