November Progress Report

It is now the 12th and final month of the year. Can you believe it? Time to partake in my beginning-of-the-month ritual: tallying my exercise from the prior month! Gathering statistics and sliding beads on my abacus always makes me happy, and I make it easy on myself by tracking my exercise on a daily basis on my calendar. I’m old school – I use an actual calendar printed on real-life paper: no fancy-pants websites, gizmos, or apps for me! Here’s my November calendar:

It was a notable month, workout-wise. I ran in my first two races EVER – a 10K and a 5K (on Thanksgiving morning). I got back in the pool for my first swim in a few months. And I was also sick for a while, which resulted in a few more rest days than normal.

Each workout gets a dot on my calendar. Each class I take with Richard Simmons at Slimmons get a dot with a circle around it. If you break out all your fingers and all your toes and starting counting the November dots on them, you’ll end up with 23 (and if you have 23 fingers and toes, could you please send me a picture?). Twenty-three workouts during the month of November! Since November has 30 days, that’s a workout-success rate of 76%. Six of those workouts were at Slimmons, and nine of those workouts had a heavy emphasis on weights!

Let’s add it to my 2011 Progress Report Chart!

  • January 2011:  Worked out 27 out 0f 31 days (87%), including 6 classes at Slimmons.
  • February 2011:  Worked out 23 out of 28 days (82%), including 5 classes at Slimmons and 3 Boot Camp Classes.
  • March 2011:  Worked out 25 out of 31 days (81%), including 5 classes at Slimmons and 4 Boot Camp Classes.
  • April 2011:  Worked out 20 out of 30 days (66%), including 5 classes at Slimmons and 3 Boot Camp Classes. 4 workouts had a weightlifting focus.
  • May 2011:  Worked out 24 out of 31 days (77%), including 3 classes at Slimmons and 0 Boot Camp Classes. 13 workouts had a weightlifting focus.
  • June 2011:  Worked out 22 out of 30 days (73%), including 4 classes at Slimmons and 2 Boot Camp Classes. 10 workouts had a weightlighting focus.
  • July 2011:  Worked out 25 out of 31 days (80%), including 4 classes at Slimmons, 2 Boot Camp Classes and 5 training sessions. 20 workouts had a weightlifting focus.
  • August 2011:  Worked out 25 out of 31 days (80%), including 5 classes at Slimmons, 3 Boot Camp Classes and 4 training sessions. 15 workouts had a weightlifting focus.
  • September 2011:  Worked out 24 out of 30 days (80%), including 4 classes at Slimmons.  11 workouts had a weightlifting focus.
  • October 2011:  Worked out 23 out of 31 days (74%), including 3 classes at Slimmons. 11 workouts had a weightlifting focus.
  • November 2011: Worked out 23 out of 30 days (76%), including 6 classes at Slimmons. 9 workouts had a weightlifting focus.
  • TOTALS:  So far in 2011, I’ve worked out 261 out of 334 days (78.1%), including 47 classes at Slimmons and 17 Boot Camp Classes.

I’m excited because the next time I update this chart, it won’t be a monthly update – it will be a year-end update!

Keep it up, David!

6 Responses to November Progress Report

  1. Kelly B says:

    GREAT JOB, David! Keep it up!

  2. Steve says:

    Woo!
    One question though…what’s…pa…per?

  3. Nurse Karen says:

    In the Webster’s Dictionary definition of “Perseverance”, they placed your photo, David. Oh yeah, and Twitter has #DAVID: WINNING!!!

  4. Coco says:

    I am in awe of the number of your workouts! Could you please share some motivation with me? Thanks.

Leave a Reply

