You Say Tomato, I Say Tomato

It’s a well-known fact around these parts that I enjoy trying new types of fruits and vegetables. My lunch yesterday was a jackpot of new things, because it included not one, but two types of tomatoes that I’ve never eaten before! Let’s take a look together, shall we?

New Tomato #1: Pickled Green Tomatoes. I mentioned a few weeks ago, in this post, that I bought a jar of pickled green tomatoes. I’d never bought green tomatoes in any way, shape, or form before, and I was intrigued.

I finally cracked open the jar, which is made by Bubbies. They don’t use sugar or vinegar – all their pickled products are cured in a salt-water brine. I loved pickles, and loved that the tomatoes in the jar are whole:

It looks like a giant olive, doesn’t it? I cut it in half, then cut each half into wedges:

I tried it and instantly fell in love. It’s completely unique and kinda bizarre to eat something that tastes like a tomato but has a crunch of a pickle! They’re dense, flavorful, and I’m sure I could eat the whole jar in one sitting. But I didn’t. According to the nutrition label, a 1-ounce serving has only 3 calories (!), so eating the entire 19-ounce jar would only be 60 calories! It’d also be about two entire days worth of sodium, so… yeah… it’s better to ration them out!

New Tomato #2: Rosso Bruno Tomatoes. Rosso Brunos are a heirloom variety of tomato that must be in season right now, because Whole Foods had a whole stack of them, and they come in adorable little custom boxes:

As you can see, Rosso Brunos aren’t very big, and they’re a beautiful deep red/brown shade. From what I gathered on the interwebs, they’re popular in Europe and may or may not be a hybrid. According to this blog post, there’s a lot of misinformation floating around about Rosso Brunos, so if you’ve been aching to put on your Nancy Drew detective hat to solve a produce-related mystery, now’s your chance!

Are you ready for your close-up, Mr. Rosso Bruno?

And here’s the tomato’s innards:

Another fantastic tomato! They seem delicate, but they’re actually quite firm and sweet, and have a rich tomato flavor, not watery or diluted like some tomatoes can be. I cut these into wedges and put together a plate for me and my friend Tavi, who was coming over for lunch:

As delicious as each tomato was individually, what I like most was eating one wedge of each at the same time. Crazy delicious!

For write-ups and pictures of any of the other new produce items I’ve tried (and believe me, I’ve tried a lot of new things in the past year!), check out the My Favorite Posts page, and scroll down to the bottom.

The rest of our lunch consisted of barramundi (a whitefish) with a dill/cumin/pepper rub, cooked in Pam, and sauteed veggies with a lemon/hummus sauce (from a bottle). Super healthy, super tasty!

Keep it up, David!

One Response to You Say Tomato, I Say Tomato

  1. Maren says:

    I know this is completely random, but I like it when you can notice stuff in the background in pictures – such as your foot. Makes me smile 🙂

Leave a Reply

