Parking Lot Produce

I went to Home Depot yesterday. I needed a new faucet for my kitchen sink, because my current faucet leaks and buying a new one would likely cost the same (or less) than repairing it. I found a snazzy faucet that I liked, which excited me, but I got even more excited when I headed back to my car, because I saw something I’ve never seen before. Right there, outside the Home Depot, was a pickup truck full of oranges! At first I thought it was one of those pits filled with plastic balls that kids jump in, but then I saw a woman passing out samples of oranges, and I had to investigate. Check out all the oranges!

They also had that one pineapple and a couple boxes of cantaloupe, but I was interested in the oranges. The sample was delicious – sweet and very juicy, and I went over to the guy to inquire about cost. There was some language difficulties – both his English and my Spanish weren’t great – but I learned that they came from a farm in Fillmore, which is supposed to be a charming small town (I’ve never been) a couple hours away where HBO filmed a lot of exteriors for the show “Big Love.” He was selling big bags of oranges for $5, but the bags had 12-15 oranges – way too many oranges for me. I communicated that I wanted 6 oranges, which he sold me for two bucks. He loaded them into a bag, and handed it to me as I handed him the money. “For you,” he said, “I give you seven.” Seven oranges for two bucks? I should swing by Home Depot more often!

I’m off to squeeze me some fresh juice!

Keep it up, David!

4 Responses to Parking Lot Produce

  1. Cindy says:

    I want to live in a place where they sell oranges in the parking lot of Home Depot. In our parking lots in Indiana we just have pick up trucks with hunting racks or guns in the back windows. Not wonderful things like fresh oranges 🙂

  2. Maren says:

    What a buy! 😀

  3. You have inspired me to eat the oranges I have in my fridge before they become some sort of crazy experiment. Keep the ideas and news coming!

  4. There are a lot of great roadside fruit and veggie stands in and around Fillmore…worth the road trip, David, but this was a pretty cool deal! Here in California, both seasonal and local. You can’t do better than that! Thanks for the picture, too. You made me smile. Keep it up…this new week! Debra

Leave a Reply

