I Am The Waffle Doodler

I’ve spent a lot of time with my friend Kristy over the last 24 hours.  You know Kristy, right?  She’s popped up on this blog before – she’s a very talented singer-songwriter and she’s even written a song inspired by this blog.

Here’s Kristy and me, in a photo taken just a few hours ago:

On Tuesday night, I worked out with Kristy, as she and her hubby Mike attend the same boot camp class that I do.  Read about Tuesday’s class at the end of this post.  Actually, Kristy and Mike were the ones to introduce me to Craig, who leads our boot camp class and is also my personal trainer.  He trains Kristy and Mike, too.  We’re all one big happy sweaty sore family!

On Wednesday afternoon, I had a session with Craig, which included a new exercise called treadmill hops.  We fired up the treadmill to 9.0 incline and 3.8 speed, and I turned to one side and did sidestep/jump movements.  After 30 seconds on one side, I pivoted, did 30 seconds on the other, and then 30 seconds of regular walking.  That cycle got repeated waaaaay too many times.  Treadmill hops kicked my ass, which means, naturally, that they’re probably really good for me.  But I still think they’re terrible, and I told Craig that.  “I hate these.  I feel like a horse,” I said, because the rhythm is similar to a gallop.  “You sound like one too,” Craig responded.  Then Craig said, “Be sure to tell Kristy you did these, because they’re her favorite form of cardio.”  I could tell by his smile and tone that that statement was probably false.

I was able to ask Kristy in person on Wednesday night, at a little show that she was a part of.  She laughed when I told her what Craig said, and said, “There’s nothing more awkward than doing treadmill hops in a crowded gym.  I hate facing the side on a treadmill when there’s someone else right there on the treadmill next to you!”

Kristy’s show was at a cute restaurant in South Pasadena called Firefly Bistro, which has a weekly singer/songwriter show called Wine & Song.

I was looking over the menu when I saw an entree that sounded so good that I couldn’t stop thinking about it all night:

CHICKEN FRIED DUCK & WAFFLES?  My mouth watered instantly.  Every element sounded amazing:  Chicken-fried confit duck leg?  Yes, please.  Cheddar-scallion waffle?  Can I have two?  Stewed peaches?  Pile them on.  Maui onions?  Mmm-mmm!  House made Tabasco?  You must be kidding me.  Lime syrup?  No, seriously, you’re kidding me.

Two things prevented me from ordering it, though:

1) I had already eaten dinner before I came.

2) $24.50 is a lot of money, especially for a guy who is unemployed between jobs.

I couldn’t stop thinking about that goddamn dish all night, and how much I wanted to eat it.  Since I had a pen on me, and since the menus were printed on regular sheets of paper, I turned one over and started doodling.  I doodle often.  I am a regular doodler.  Last night, I was a waffle doodler.  My first doodle:

My friend Ashley saw the doodle and asked to finish the equation:

Me: “Why is the eye crying?  Because the duck and waffle dish is so delicious?  Or because it’s sad because it’s not eating any?”

Ashley:  “It’s open to interpretation.”  What an artist-like thing to say! 

My friend Dan also saw my doodle (we were all sitting around one big table) and said that my waffle doodle looked appetizing, so I started a new doodle just for him.  Here’s what I came up with:

That’s syrup getting poured on a waffle garnished with mint and fresh assorted berries.

My final doodle was also waffle-inspired:

That is one sexy lady waffle!

On the drive home, the thought crossed my mind that I could stop at the store and pick up some waffles.  I’m currently out, but I usually have a box of frozen waffles in my freezer.  I eat 1 or 2 a week, with a drizzle of honey, a little jam, or some fresh fruit (I don’t use syrup).  But I didn’t stop, because I knew that indulging this craving could result in me going a little crazy and eating the entire box of waffles in a matter of minutes, and I didn’t want to open the door to that possibility, especially on a day where I had such a good workout, especially one day after an exciting weigh-in, and especially not at 10pm at night, which is a horrible time to load up on carbs.

So.  No waffles for me.  Waffle doodles, yes.  Actual waffles, no.  I have a hunch that my waffle craving will be gone in the morning.

Keep it up, David!

Leave a Reply

