Dinner with Kenlie!

You’d think two blogs in one day would be enough (one featured my weigh-in results; the other had a photo of me with antlers), but here I am, composing my third blog in less than 24 hours, and it’s a good one!

I’ll start with a picture of who I spent my evening with.  Maybe you already know her, as she’s a very popular weight-loss blogger.  Yep, it’s Kenlie, from All The Weigh!

Kenlie moved to Los Angeles a few days ago, and I think she’ll be a lovely addition to this city.  She’s been talking about moving to LA for months now, pretty much since she visited in May, and I’m glad it’s finally happened!  I invited Kenlie and her two aunts, who helped bring Kenlie’s stuff cross-country, over for dinner.  Her aunts are lovely women, and it was great to meet them and shoot the shit with Kenlie in person, as opposed to over Twitter, Facebook, or our blogs.

For dinner, I pulled out my most trusted kitchen appliance: my Crockpot.  I’ve had my Crockpot for 8 years or so, and it’s never let me down.  My Crockpot and me have shared many adventures together.  We participated in a weekly CrockPotLuck every Friday a year.  We won Runner-up in a chili contest.  Since I started this blog, my Crockpot has starred in 4 posts:

And now it’s time for another.  I made up the following recipe, and it all started with a jar:

I picked up this jar of Spinach Curry Simmer Sauce a few months ago at Whole Foods and have been staring at it in my cupboard since then.  Finally, I have a great reason to crack it open!  (FYI: the jar has 6 servings, and each one has 25 calories and 1 gram of fat.)

I thought the sauce would be a good base for a stew.  And, as anyone who’s ever cooked with a Crockpot knows, everything in a Crockpot ends up becoming a stew whether you want it to or not, so that really couldn’t have worked out any better!

My favorite stews are loaded with vegetables, so I sharpened my knife and started chopping:

From left to right, we have 2 big turnips, 1 red onion, 3 parsnips, and 3 Italian eggplants.  I also added 3 minced cloves of garlic.  I got a few comments the other day when I mentioned buying a purple bell pepper, and I know Kenlie is a huge fan of my posts about oddly-colored vegetables, so I chopped up the purple bell pepper, too.  Here it is whole:

And here it is in the Crockpot with the other vegetables:

Oh, and by the way, I grossly overestimated how many veggies I’d need.  I could only squeeze in about 2/3 of the veggies before the Crockpot was full; the other 1/3 are sitting in my fridge, awaiting their destiny.  I may roast them off tomorrow; I’m not sure yet.

For protein, I added 6 chicken thighs.  I had to remove the skin and trim some fat from them, which is a total pain in the butt, but they looked pretty afterwards:

The thighs still had their bones inside them, but I’ve Crocked chicken thighs before, and they get so tender that the meat literally falls off the bones, making them easy to remove when you’re serving.

Finally, the jar of sauce got poured over everything:

The lid went on, and the Crockpot got plugged in and set to Low.  I started the cooking process at noon, and at 8pm, when it was time to eat, this is what it looked like:

I made some couscous to serve it over, following the directions on the box, except that I used some chicken stock instead of water.  And here’s the finished plate!

The chicken was tender, and the sauce was fantastic.  I love curry, and I’ll be buying that sauce again!

I’ll end this post with one more photo of Kenlie and me.  If you haven’t checked out her blog, do yourself a favor and click here.  She’s lost well over 100 pounds, and is wonderfully honest, open, and inspiring.  Keep it up, Kenlie…

…and Keep it up, David!

32 Responses to Dinner with Kenlie!

  1. I love love love that you’ve posted already! I had such a great time with you, and the food was delish!!!!! You’ll be happy to know that there were no stops on the way home either..just FYI. 😉

    See you this weekend, and thanks again David! It was a lovely night…now it’s time to sleep! 🙂

  2. Dacia says:

    That looks and sounds fantastic. What does spinach curry sauce taste like? Is it similar to a Thai or Indian curry? Is it spicy?

    • David says:

      It definitely had a spicy kick to it, but I don’t know if it was more Indian or more Thai, because I don’t know the difference between the two! Good question, Dacia!

  3. I am sooooo jealous over here! You guys look great, and it looks like you had a great time!

  4. auntiekim says:

    Hey David! Just followed the link from Kenlie’s blog. I said this on her blog and I’ll say it here too: your eyes are sooooo beautiful. Wow. And, don’t fret…I’m a happily married woman. Just had to pay you that compliment. Anyway, I took a look around here and watched your segment on Ellen. How fun! You look amazing. I do hope you’re proud of yourself because you really should be. Keep up the good work. Personally I just passed my 100 pound mark a few days ago, just in time for our upcoming trip to Europe. It feels amazing! I’m adding your blog to my blogroll. So glad I found a new bloggity friend. Continued success!

    P.S. I am SO making that recipe. I’ve never made anything with turnips or parsnips so this will be interesting.

    • David says:

      Woo-hoo 100 pounds – Congratulations! That’s awesome – Keep it up! And have fun in Europe!
      Thank you for such a great comment – and let me know how you like the recipe after you make it! -D

  5. teresa says:

    I love it when you post so many photos with a recipe. it really helps. This one is going to be great. My husband will love it!
    Just found you through Kenlie’s blog and I want to say Congratulations on your journey so far. You’ve done an amazing thing.
    I’ll be rooting for you to continue your journey and reach all your goals.

  6. Bella says:

    Hi David, I too found you through Kenlie’s blog, but after reading this recipe and a few of your other posts, I can tell you I’m going to be a regular! 🙂

    This looks delicious, and I can’t wait for fall so that I can make it. Crockpot food tends to signal fall and winter for me – most of the stews/chili/heavy soups are too heavy for summer (for me).

    BTW – I’ve got to ask. Are you crazy tall or is Kenlie really short? The height difference between you two is so cute in the photo. (I’m only 5″3′, so this is how I often look in photos with tall people, too).

  7. Joan says:

    WEll, Kenlie’s dad is over 6′ and her mom is only 5’1″, maybe only 5 now as I get older I have been shrinking. LOL . … Anyway, David thanks for showing my daughter hospitailty and her aunts. You are doing a great job with your journey. I am proud of the both of you. Kenlie’s MOM. Joan

  8. Crystal says:

    I love this recipe, except the eggplant. It is one veggie that no matter how I have it I do not like it.

    I love turnips though. They are fantastic.They are great roasted in the oven. I do a roasted root veggie soup that my kids beg for. It has Turnips, Parsnips, carrots, onions all roasted in a 425* oven until they are tender and golden. Then I put that all in the soup pot with tomato basil base.

    How exciting to meet a fellow blogger who has worked so hard to lose weight and get healthy.

  9. Tara says:

    Oh crap color me totally jealous here…

    Promise me you’ll hug it out every chance you get and every once in a while just whisper my name amongst the two of you…

  10. stopping by from ATW post on her evening. ARG…I had a crockpot and no idea what to do with it (I’m not from the US so we never, ever use this) now I’m gonna go and get one!!!

  11. ragemichelle says:

    That looks wonderful, David!

  12. Laurie says:

    I was reading Kenlie’s post and thought “I wonder how you make that dish” and there it was in your comment. Thanks! I have never bought a turnip. I guess something new is in store.

  13. Lilian says:

    Hi David. My name is Lilian and I am from Brazil.
    I saw your appearance at Ellen Degeneres Show on YouTube and I was inspired by you story and your weight loss journey.
    When I am upset because I gain weight instead of losing it, I read your blog and see the videos on Ellen on Youtube and it reminds me that I am an human and there are sometimes I make mistakes but I need to continuing my weight loss program.
    Thank you for the inspiration.
    Regards,
    Lilian

  14. Janet says:

    I was delighted when I read that Kenlie was moving to L.A., not only she gets to enjoy Slimmons now but the two most inspirational bloggers (for me that is) are now in the same town, Gee, what to expect!
    You both rock.
    Keep it up David,
    Janet

Leave a Reply

