LACMA Photos

Two posts in one day?  Yep.  It hasn’t happened often lately, but it’s happening today.  This post is a photo addendum to the post from earlier, in which I mentioned going with my friend Steve to the Tim Burton exhibit at LACMA.  That post also covers this week’s weigh-in, so if you haven’t checked it out, then click here.

Tim Burton is the filmmaker behind some of the most visually interesting films of the past 25 years, including Batman, Beetlejuice, Sweeney Todd, Edward Scissorhands (one of my all-time favorite films), and most recently, Alice in Wonderland.  The Tim Burton exhibit at LACMA is a compilation of 700 of his sketches, drawings, paintings, photographs, sculptures, rare films, and artifacts from his films.

I’ve been a Tim Burton fanatic since I first saw Edward Scissorhands when I was a kid, so I was in heaven wandering through the galleries.  The exhibit isn’t without its flaws (which could the subject of a post on my arts and culture blog… too bad I don’t have one), but there were lots of things that I loved seeing.

And Steve and I got some fun photos!

LACMA (Los Angeles County Museum of Art) has a wonderful installation at its entrance called Urban Light, which is made up of 202 restored cast-iron street lights from all over Los Angeles:

Photos weren’t allowed in the Tim Burton exhibit, except for in front of the Burton-inspired air puppets:

In the plaza, the museum installed one of the topiaries from Edward Scissorhands:

Steve had the genius idea of lining it up so it looked like we had antlers:

And I left with a little souvenir: two magnets from the gift shop:

I thought they’d go well with the blue magnet I already have, which came from Matthew Bourne’s ballet adaptation of Edward Scissorhands, which I saw at the Ahmanson Theater with Steve and my aunt in 2006.

For the record, I think I look pretty good with antlers!

Keep it up, David!

5 Responses to LACMA Photos

  1. steven says:

    Hotchee-motchee!

  2. Dacia says:

    I’ve heard about this exhibit and wished I lived close to LA so I could go see it. Tim Burton is a genius. Wish you were allowed to take pictures- I am sure there was some pretty amazing stuff.

  3. Debbie says:

    I’d give my left nut to see that again….looks like you two had fun! You should crop me out of that picture I posted of the three of us at the Senior All-Night for a before/after of you two.

    • David says:

      That is a great idea, Debbie – thanks! And I’d give my left nut just to hear you talk about giving away your left nut again.

      • Debbie says:

        Haha…that’s my favorite line from Edward Scissorhands. I think I did a spit take…made me see Anthony Michael Hall in a new light.

Leave a Reply

