Chart Update and Veggie Grill

The good news keep comin’ this week.  After yesterday’s exciting and positive health update, I have more excellent news… and I’m gonna let my weight chart do the talking.  Take it away, weight chart!

I lost another pound over the past week!  That puts me at an all-time low!  A weight of 235 pounds represents a loss of 167 pounds.  I really feel like I’m on a roll right now, and not just because I’ve lost 4 pounds in 3 weeks.  It’s because I’ve been having great workouts lately (today is actually my first rest day since last Tuesday), and I’ve avoided binges and eaten really well, too.

A couple more chart shots:

 

Moving on…

Yesterday I hung out with my friend Steve, a friend I’ve known since sixth grade.  We went to the Tim Burton exhibit at LACMA (I’ll hopefully share a couple pics soon), and afterwards, we went to lunch at Veggie Grill.

Veggie Grill is a small chain of vegetarian restaurants in southern California.  They have seven locations in Los Angeles and Orange counties, including one that I drive by every time I head into West Hollywood.  I’ve eaten their food a bunch of times, because my old office used to order catering from them regularly, but I’ve never been to one of their actual restaurants, and Steve hadn’t either.  We ended up at their Farmers Market location, which is just up the street from LACMA.  The Farmers Market is a permanent collection of vendors and restaurants located on the site of one of the earliest actual farmers markets in the city.  You can buy tons of stuff there, from produce and meat to candles to jewelry, and there are specialty retailers that sell things like hot sauce or stickers.  There’s also a strip mall element, where there’s national retailers like Cost Plus World Market and Chipotle, and that’s where the Veggie Grill is located.

I ended up ordering something that I’d never tried before: their Thai Chickin’ Salad, dressing on the side.  It has romaine, cabbage, roasted corn salsa, green onion, mandarin oranges, cilantro, and sesame seeds, and is covered with carrots and a generous handful of fried wonton strips:

The salad was delicious.  It had too many wontons for my liking.  Next time I’ll have them leave the wontons off.  For this time, though, I already had them, so I started by picking a lot of them off and putting them on the side.  Then I ate everything else, and quickly – the dressing had a great spicy kick, and their fake chicken is some of the best I’ve ever had.  When I was finished, I ended up picking at the pile of wontons, and, by the time we left, I had eaten most of them.  And they were good.  And I’m not going to beat myself up over it.

Because did you hear?  I lost a pound this week.

Keep it up, David!

6 Responses to Chart Update and Veggie Grill

  1. Ang says:

    YEAHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!

    Congrats…

  2. Melissa says:

    Congrats on your loss! Well done! I love Veggie Grill. I’ve been to the one down in Irvine a couple of time, but usually go to the El Segundo location since it’s pretty close to my office. I usually get the carne asada or chipotle BBQ made as a wrap and substitute the yam fries. I have no idea how to count it for my Weight Watchers food plan, so I use it for an occasional “treat” meal and just don’t worry about it. 🙂

  3. Sheilah Lowe says:

    Awesome!!!! You must be so motivated to keep it up, David!

  4. Dacia says:

    Woo hoo!!! 235!!! Keep it up David!!! 🙂

  5. Sylvia Hall says:

    Way to go, David. You are doing great work for your body and eating well. So proud of you!

Leave a Reply

