Blood Work

I visited a couple doctors today, and everything is looking good.  In fact, there’s definitely some non-scale victories buried in my blood test results!

This post needs a visual aid, so here's the cool skylights in my doctor's waiting room.

Blood Pressure.  Three or four years ago (at least), way before I started losing weight, I was prescribed Lisinopril, a blood pressure medication.  At the time, my blood pressure was up in the 140s/90s.  I started at 15mg a day, and it helped get my blood pressure under control.  In November, the last time I had a complete blood & urine work-up, my blood pressure was 110/70.  By then, my dosage had been reduced to 5mg a day.  Today, the nurse took my blood pressure at 120/80 – good!  My doctor reduced my dosage once again, to 2.5mg a day, saying that it doesn’t hurt to have a constant little foundation to help even out any blood pressure swings I may have.  Those 2.5mg pills are the smallest pills I’ve ever seen, so it’s no problem to take one daily.

Cholesterol.  Three years ago, my triglycerides (the bad cholesterol) were at 197, which is pretty high – well above 150, which is the upper end of the healthy range.  Today, my triglycerides were at 53.  FIFTY-THREE!  My triglycerides are about a quarter of what they used to be!  My total cholesterol went from 197 three years ago (which is nearly out of the healthy range) to 167 today.

Glucose.  There’s diabetes in my family, so this is important to me.  Three years ago, my glucose reading was at 108, which is in the pre-diabetic range.  When my doctor saw this number, she pulled out a stack of diabetes-prevention pamphlets for me to take home.  I took them, and when I got home, I threw them out without looking at them.  The thought of becoming diabetic was depressing, and I was sure the pamphlets would suggest all sorts of changes in diet that I didn’t think I was capable of making, which I knew would depress me further.  Today, however, my glucose reading was 60.  That’s actually a little bit below the preferred range (which is 65-99), but my doctor chalked it up to me fasting a little too long before the blood test last week.  My glucose number in November was 75.

Eyeballs.  I also had an appointment with my eye doctor for my annual eye exam.  My glasses prescription didn’t change much, and my eyes are in good shape, but I told her about some problems I’ve been having lately – my eyes have been a little dry and itchy – and she recommended I increase my Omega-3 fatty acids intake.  Omega-3s help lubricate blood vessels, and it’s blood that brings oxygen everywhere, including your eyeballs.  I told her I’ve been eating a lot of fish lately (which is true), but it turns out I haven’t been eating fish that are particularly high in Omega-3s.  So I gotta lean away from the sea bass, opah, and tilapia (which I’ve eaten in the past week but didn’t blog about), and lean towards albacore, salmon, and halibut.  I can do that.  I even have some salmon burgers in my freezer right now!  I’ll probably buy some supplements, too, and probably some Horizon Organic fat-free milk with Omega-3s, because that, too, is a good source.

Apart from the good news about my health, the best part of my day was telling my doctors about the good things I’ve been doing to improve my health and lose weight.  My general practitioner said, at one point: “I have a lot of morbidly obese patients who are convinced that the only way they’ll be able to lose weight is with bariatric surgery, but you’re a fantastic example of what can be done with diet, exercise, and determination.”

Keep it up, David!

14 Responses to Blood Work

  1. Heidikristen says:

    Oh David, I am practically clicking my heels in delight. You’ve shared some wonderful, encouraging thoughts, experiences and ideas… but I truly believe that the proof of your success goes beyond the size of your pants. The proof of your success is the length of your healthy life… and those test results are the clearest evidence that you are successful beyond measure!! CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. jenny o says:

    Wonderful news David! Well done. I read your blog nearly every day, your journey to good health is inspirational 🙂

  3. Karen says:

    Congrats on this very important, life-changing victory for better health!!! You’re so inspiring… I think I say that a lot, but it’s true. Way to go! Keep it up!!

  4. Sheilah Lowe says:

    Fantastic!!! Keep it up, David!!!

  5. Janet says:

    It’s also good to have positive feedback on your weight loss journey which is not really visible when looking at yourself in the mirror. Congrats David and yes you ARE a fantastic example. 😉

  6. Jawbone McGee says:

    NICE! This is even more evidence of your incredible discipline. I’m always amazed at the ability of the human body to heal itself IF it’s taken care of, and you are clearly doing that. You continue to inspire me to make better choices every day. Keep it up, Daveeeed!

  7. Betsy says:

    I’m so happy for you!!! I’m just beginning my weight loss journey, and your blog has been so inspirational for me. This blog post had some great news for you, and shows your hard work has paid off. You are my hero!

  8. Nurse Karen says:

    Said in my best Yoda sotto-voce: Inspirational HERO, You *Are*!!! Live Long & Prosper…opps, mixing Sci-fi shows, ;-D Well, You Know we Love You and are so terrifically Happy that you will be with us for a long, long time, in this wonderful life! xxoo~

  9. Ellen says:

    Good for you! My mom has started working out too and while she hasn’t seen a ton of progress on the weight front, her cholesterol went WAY down this year and her blood pressure was down too. Every little bit helps!

  10. Pat says:

    How bout you remember THAT quote next time you drive by the 7-11. Keep it Up indeed!

  11. Joanne says:

    “Diet, exercise and determination”…I like that! Way to go on the good report at the doctors’! That reminds me, I should make an appointment for a physical.
    Thanks again for your blog David!

  12. Ang says:

    Yeah!!! Congrats..I was just looking the clubhouse at your success story…You really need to update that thing..LOL…

    Great Job David!!

  13. Dacia says:

    I still have a long way to go before I am down to a healthy weight range but I am actually excited about going to my doctor and seeing her expression when she takes my vitals and weight. She was kind of harsh with me about my weight the last time I saw her. It crushed me and I had no desire to see her again. Looking back I now know she was trying to push me to take my obesity seriously and to get my butt in gear before I got any worse. I owe her so much- not many people feel comfortable being brutally honest, even doctors.

Leave a Reply

