It’s Monday Already?

Oh crap, it’s Monday already?

That means tomorrow is Tuesday, the day that I’m supposed to weigh myself.

I don’t wanna weigh myself tomorrow.

So I don’t think I will.

It was only days ago that I was writing about stepping up and trying harderso why haven’t I done it yet?  There’s been no stepping up on my part whatsoever.  Last week, after my last weigh-in, I confessed to buying crappy junk food at a gas station.  I did the same thing again yesterday when I gassed up again.  Earlier in the week, I stopped at a 7-11 – just because – and bought ice cream and Cheetos.  My will power seems to be evaporating.

Twice this week, on Thursday and Saturday, I failed to exercise.  I intended to work out, but I just didn’t rally to get myself to the gym.

I need to turn this around.

I feel pretty sure that tomorrow, if I were to step on my scale, I’d see a gain.  So, I’m gonna skip my weigh-in this week.  Yep, I’m pussing out.  I’m gonna give myself another week to try to get back on track and work hard, and see where I’m at next week.

Today, my eating was in check, and I actually made it to the gym (for the 2nd time in 4 days), where, after 5 minutes warm-up on the treadmill, I did 30 minutes of weights and then 34 minutes on the elliptical.  That’s something positive, right?  That’s a reason to say…

…Keep it up, David.

15 Responses to It’s Monday Already?

  1. Seriously, I’m so right there with you on turning this shizz around! I say WI, face the scale, see how bad (or good) it is, then just move on. I forced myself to face the scale Saturday, saw an 8 lb. gain (that’s right, 8 lbs.), and vowed to stop it.

  2. Laura says:

    My most productive weigh ins are when I weigh myself when i don’t want to. It shocks me into motion and I get back on track. Up to you but I encourage you to face wherever you are at as just that- where you are at- and not make it mean stuff about you (ie that your willpower is evaporating or whatever else you are thinking.) Then move forward. New day, new opportunity to live the life you want to live! xoxo

  3. You know what you need to do, and sometimes when we have had some sort of “trigger” we totally go against that. So my question would be – what triggered this desire to self sabotage? There is more to it than you are letting on.

    That being said, you are a ROCKSTAR!!! You are totally going to turn this into something positive and you’ll get right back to it. I’ve seen your determination and I know you won’t let anything stop you.

  4. retroactiv says:

    I know how you feel David, and am in the same situation. 2 weeks ago I had lost 4 pounds – and hit my “happy weight” right on the nose (5lbs under my target). Apparently I found the need to celebrate by eating, because I gained 3.3 back as of today. Just keep pushing – you will get there. I am getting back on track today myself. Congrats on hitting the gym too. I need to use that as my inspiration this week!

  5. Tishia Lee says:

    I’m right there with you too. The last 2 weeks have been bad…so much junk food and crap in my body and very little exercise. I had a gain last week and I know there will be a gain again today. Congrats on your eating being in check and getting to the gym today! Yep, those are definitely positives.

  6. Sending you a big hug, whether you step on that scale or not! I’m cheering you on no matter what.

  7. Pat says:

    Sounds like you need to “find new ways to keep motivated and on-track”. Drive by those 7-11s. If it helps, I haven’t had a Coke/Diet Coke since hiatus started. Keep it Up!

  8. Sara says:

    Oh man, David, I’m right there with you! This month has not been a good one for me. I’m on track for a few days and then CRASH BOOM I’m off and just hating. I don’t know if it’s the hot weather and I’m feeling weak and don’t want to do much or just loving summer and all the goodies. Who knows. Keep it up!! 🙂 I still need to post about your lovely watermelon/mint/cuc salad, that was so good!

  9. Lynn says:

    David, I understand your logic about not weighing in, but I know from my experience, if I don’t face the scale and see the truth of the damage I did I just keep going. I really respect your honesty about your struggle and I think that is a huge part of your past success. I know you sent Richard Simmons your food diary for a year, would he be willing to do that again for a few months to get your over this slump? Don’t let this be the start of undoing everything you have worked so hard for. You have climbed 3/4 of the mountain, don’t lose your footing and fall back down. Hang on! You can make it all the way to the top!

  10. Sheilah Lowe says:

    Hang in there, you will get your momentum back. The good news is that you are aware and honest about what you’ve been doing, just don’t get hung up on it!!! Keep it up, David!!

  11. Wow David….I’ve been in the same place lately..I seem to have turned it around in the last 48 hours, but I’m still taking it moment by moment.

    I wonder what’s floating around in the air…so many of us seem to be struggling so hard right now…..just keep pressing on..today was better, tomorrow can be better than today..you know the drill…..

  12. Rebecca Hill says:

    Damn that “crappy junk food at the gas station” – it gets me too, David. I will have had a good day and then suddenly, like the sugar junkie I am, I will have a freak out moment and go get gas (and 1-2 candy bars, a pack of Skittles, a brownie and a Diet Coke – yes, a Diet Coke, how absurd!) The reason I do the gas station thing is that when I charge the gas and the food to my credit card, my sweet husband Tom won’t know that I’ve fallen off the wagon …again. 😦 Just want you to know you are not alone and I join you in taking it one day at a time and always trying to do better (and stay away from sugar) day by day (sometimes hour by hour…sometimes minute by minute. Gosh, this is hard, isn’t it!?!) Anyway, happy to see from your more recent posts you’ve moved past this and are back on solid ground. Keep it up, David! We’re all rooting for you! 🙂 Rebecca Hill

    • David says:

      Thanks, Rebecca. A lot of times I can avoid going into the minimart altogether by paying at the pump, but my favorite gas station charges 8 cents less per gallon if you pay with cash (hence it being my favorite gas station!) and you can’t pay unless you head inside… sigh. This week, so far, has been junk-food-free – and I hope yours has been too! KEEP IT UP!

      • Rebecca Hill says:

        David, I’m having a rough week (food wise) but I’m very happy for you that your week has been junk-food-free so far! With everyone talking about Amy Winehouse’s sad passing this week, I hear a lot of people saying “Why would anyone do that to themselves?” …but when you struggle with addiction (be it food, drugs or alcohol) it’s like some sort of demon takes over you and makes you crazy until you get your “fix” (and then you calm down and immediately feel bad for getting out of control) …that’s how I feel anyway. Do you feel that way too or is your sense of “personal responsibility” so strong that you don’t blame it on “demons” like I do? Can you stop yourself when you feel “the frenzy” coming on? If so, how!?! I feel badly that Amy Winehouse’s addiction was so severe that it consumed her and I feel fortunate that my sugar addiction is at least legal and not as immediately lethal. Anyway, I’m feeling really sick due to a freak-out gas station food eating binge tonight, so I returned to your blog once again; your success reminds me of the things I strive to accomplish daily and when you have a difficult time, it reminds me that I am not alone. Someday, one of these days, I hope to beat my sugar addiction once and for all. Until then – so proud of you! (and I bet RS is too!)

      • David says:

        Rebecca, I certainly have had vicious cycles (including those gas stations binges a week ago) where all I want to do is eat junk and then, after, feel like shit for letting it happen. To be honest, I’m not certain what triggers them – maybe it is a demon, I’ve never thought of it that way, but I know that when I get on a roll with my eating and exercise, the likelihood of those cycles happening falls drastically, so what I’ve been trying to do is focus on the stuff I can do well, and the good food that I can eat and enjoy, until of focusing on the mistakes that I’ve made. Granted, not focusing on mistakes is easier said than done, but I’m working on it. You’re doing really well, too, I’m proud of you! KEEP IT UP!

Leave a Reply

